FAT

“Fat is flavor.  Fat is texture.  Fat give dishes succulence, richness.  Fat is the component that makes a dish satisfying…”  I was almost drooling when I read this in “Ratio” today.  I really, really miss the fat in my diet and it’s only been three days.

Perhaps this is why I can never get full.  That and I’m basically only eating plants.

Well, I tried to make a vegan cashew cream sauce today.  Let me just say that cooking while tired, fat deprived and feeling slightly under the weather is not a good combo.  And that chocolate Almond Breeze does not make for a good sauce.

Whoops.  I have both Unsweetened Plain and Chocolate Almond Breeze in my fridge, and guess which one I accidentally grabbed?  I only put about a tablespoon in before I realized that it was the chocolate.  I tried to salvage it by adding the rest plain and then adding tons of nutritional yeast.

This did not go well either.  Bleh!  It was salty, with a slightly sweet aftertaste.  Not really what I was looking for.  Here’s what I put in, but I would highly advise against making it:

  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked for about 10 hours.
  • 1/4 cup cashew soaking water.
  • 3/4 cup plain almond milk, plus chocolate if you’re tired like me 😦
  • 2 tbls nutritional yeast-this was WAY too much.  The sauce was entirely too salty.
  • salt, cayenne pepper and paprika sprinkle.

Uh, yeah.  I wizzed this together in the food processor and was sorely disappointed.  Perhaps I’ll try again later.

This week has had some interesting experiments, only one of which went well.  The bean soup that I made yesterday was fabulous!  I am in love with Bob’s Red Mill 13 Bean Soup.

I also made an important discovery yesterday with dried beans; they cooked WAY better in a slow cooker than in a pot on the stove.  I put these guys into my slow cooker with water, garlic and onions, put it on low and left for work.  Eight hours later, I returned to find gloriously creamy beans in my pot!  I added cumin, salt, pepper, paprika and tomato paste, and it was out of this world!

I have never made dried beans this good.  Ever.  What a discovery!  Taste Tester 2 said he enjoyed the beans as well…and he even let me cut up his toast into triangles so that the soup would look pretty.  What a guy!

I would like to eat this:

Delicious ravioli that I ate before the Seattle Rock n' Roll Marathon

Soon enough.  Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

