Gnocchi 102

Hi!  So, I’m going to be honest and say that I ate four pieces of a salmon and avocado sushi.  I don’t regret one single bite of it.  After this experiment in rabbit food, I will never again be vegan.  Ever.  You can’t make me, you can’t make me, you can’t make me!  Enough on that, look what I attempted tonight and came a lot closer to!

That’s right, folks.  Less than a week later and I attempted to make gnocchi again.  These were slightly different; actually way different because they were vegan gnocchi.  I found a recipe for them on Vegan Yum Yum and they looked super easy!  I didn’t have any russet potatoes or bread flour like the recipe called for.  Instead, I used one red potato, one sweet potato and regular all purpose flour.

Vegan Gnocchi, adapted from Vegan Yum Yum

2 Russet Potatoes (about 1 1/2 pounds) I used one red and one sweet potato.
1 Scant Cup Bread Flour.  I used all purpose flour.
(No salt!)

  • Bake the potatoes.  When they are done, peel them while hot and put in a bowl to rest.

  • Then I mashed these bad boys up with a fork and added the flour to make a dough.

  • Break off pieces of the dough and roll into logs.  Cut to small pieces, I think mine were about a half an inch.  Press down with a fork on the top so that when you put them in sauce, the grooves catch them.

  • Nearly there.  Now all you have to do is cook them in boiling, salty water!  I found that cooking them in small batches and for about three minutes worked nicely.

Pretty fork marks!

Now that they are done, there are a few things I would have done differently.  I would have taken more care to mash the potatoes up to a smoother consistency.  Some of them still had chunks of potato in them.  I was kind of in a hurry because I was supposed to meet my sister.  Also, I think russet potatoes are starchier, so they might work better for gnocchi.  Either way, these did taste better than the last ones!  And they actually resemble gnocchi, even if only vaguely!

I have figured out something I can do to keep myself full: coconut milk.  I need an IV of coconut milk and almond butter.

I may never eat beans again after this diet.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

