Maiden Voyage of the Le Creuset

I was not as ambitious as I thought today!  I did go grocery shopping for all the ingredients to the recipes I wanted to make, but I only made the Winter Greens and Mushroom Pasta recipe.  My adaptations are in bold.

Winter Greens and Mushroom Pasta, adapted from Sunset Magazine:

6 oz angel hair pasta (I used gluten free angel hair pasta.  It had more whole grains than wheat pasta.)

1/4 cup olive oil

8 oz cremini mushrooms (I used shitaki as well.)

1 leek, white & light parts only, chopped (I used the whole thing!)

1 clove garlic, chopped ( I used two, you can never have enough garlic right?)

1 bunch dandelion green, chopped

4 oz radicchio

1 tsp kosher salt

1/2 cup ricotta cheese (I made a vegan tofu cashew ricotta.)

1/4 cup toasted plain croutons, crushed ( I omitted these.)

1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped. ( I forgot to buy this, so I just made it without!)

Cook pasta according to directions on box.

Heat tbls olive oil in pan and brown mushrooms. Then add leeks and garlic.


Next, add the greens, radicchio and salt and cook until warm.


Toss pasta and vegetables together. ( You can add some of the pasta cooking water here as well but I forgot and poured all my water out! Mine turned out great though!)

Top with ricotta (and croutons if using) and enjoy! Yum!

Ricotta:

Soak raw cashews in water until soft and blend with 1 block silken tofu, 3 tbls lemon juice and a pinch of salt.

Pretty tasty dish! It was finger-lickin’ good as my dad would say! The vegan ricotta tasted great on the hot pasta too.  Well, I’m off to bed now!

Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

