Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf

I forgot to buy vegetable broth yesterday for this recipe!  Darn it.  I decided to forage ahead any ways, and make this recipe with what I bought.  I spend 60 bucks on groceries, surely I could find something to make this with!

Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf, adapted from Jenna

  • 1 cup red lentils
  • a few threads of saffron
  • 3 tbls ground flax
  • 3/4 cup walnuts
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 monster garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • a few leaves of fresh basil
  • tomato paste
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • salt
  • 1 tbls nutritional yeast

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Mix 3 tablespoons ground flax with 1/2 cup water and set aside.  This makes a “flax egg.”

Simmer lentils, saffron and a pinch of salt in 3 cups water until the lentils are tender.

Put walnuts onto a sheet pan and toast, about 5 or 6 minutes.  Watch them carefully so they don’t burn.  Roughly chop when cooled.

Saute onions and celery in a couple tablespoons olive oil until they are soft.  Add carrot and garlic.

Almost all the burners going at once!

Take onion/celery mix off the heat and add lentils, walnuts and flax egg.  Add more salt if necessary.  Mix throughly and transfer to a lightly sprayed loaf pan.  Press mixture evenly into pan.

Sprinkle nutritional yeast over the top.  Spread a thin layer of tomato paste over that and then dollop your balsamic reduction over the top.  Cover with foil and bake for 40 minutes!

It looks like the loaf is burnt on the top, but I promise it’s not!  The balsamic reduction went nicely with the tomato paste on top.  The texture was really nice too, moist and it didn’t fall apart; it held it’s shape.  I had two slices of this with toast that had half an avocado smashed onto the top.  It was very satisfying and kept me going longer than some of the other vegan dishes I’ve made and it fits mostly into the requirements of E2.  (Sorry, Rip.  I had to saute my veggies in olive oil.  I was starting to feel weak from always being hungry and unsatisfied.)

Happy eating and good night!  I have a long day ahead of me tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

