Vegan Stuffed Peppers

It was 11 degrees when I left for my store meeting this morning.

That was at 5:45 am.  And now I am closing.  Oh well, whatever brings in the dough, right?  Then I can buy more kitchen appliances!  Before taking a nap today, I did manage to make another delicious vegan meal!  Stuffed peppers.  I stuffed mine with celery, garlic, onions, carrots, the rest of radicchio and mushrooms from Winter Green and Mushroom Pasta, seitan and brown rice.  I am so sick of bean, but then again, I just ate black and white bean soup with red chard for dinner.  Go figure. 

These almost tasted like they were stuffed with real meat and cheese.  Almost.  These came together really quickly and you could really stuff them with any vegetables and grain you had laying around.  I’ve made them with quinoa before and they were super yum then too!  (They’re even better if you stuff them with bison instead of seitan, but given the current diet…)

Here’s the goods you need:

  • 3 peppers, I used 2 red and one green.
  • half an onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 rib of celery, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • half a head of ridicchio
  • 1 cup cremini mushrooms, sliced.  You could really use any kind though.
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 box of seitan, cut into strips.  The box that I got was already cut into strips!
  • salt and pepper to taste.
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper for some kick.

Heat up your favorite pan and put a few tablespoons of olive oil in the bottom. 

Saute carrots, onion and celery until translucent.  Add garlic, mushrooms and ridicchio. 

When those are nice and brown, add your seitan and brown rice and mix it up in the pan.

Cut the peppers in half and lay in a sprayed casserole dish.  Fill up your peppers with that delicious mix from the pan and pop them in the oven!  They’re done when the peppers are cooked through and soft.

If found some vegan “cheese” topping in my fridge and sprinkled that on the top.  It tasted reminiscently of cheese…sigh.  These peppers were pretty good though!  I ate a whole pepper for lunch, and a blueberry Larabar.  I have to eat so much these days!  Well, I’m off to bed.  Work in the morning.

Happy Eating!

One thought on “Vegan Stuffed Peppers

  1. Pingback: Chicken-Chickpea Stuffed Peppers « Sarah's Cooking

Leave a Reply

