Seafood Induced Coma

I am not doing much cooking this weekend and I am totally ok with it.  I also broke the E2 diet, and I didn’t regret it for a second.  My parents, sister and I went to Jax Fish House, how could I pass that up?

You don’t.

This was the first time I had been there and I can’t believe I waited so long!  (Well, the prices make it a kind of special occasion, “place your parents take you” restaurant!)   I forgot my camera, so I couldn’t take any pictures, but I can certainly describe in detail what we had!

We all had drinks to start. Sister got a margarita that was quite strong. They don’t mess around with the alcohol here! Mom had a glass of Malbec, one of her favs from Argentina and my dad and I had an Aviation # 1. This was a martini that had beefeater gin, lemon and luxardo maraschino liqueur. I have never had maraschino liqueur before and it was interesting.

Upon reading about maraschino liqueur, I have learned that it is an Italian liqueur that is one of the only liqueurs made from distillation and that it is produce from the marasca sour cherry.  It is matured for two years in Finish ash vats and then diluted and sugared.  Yum!  This leant an interesting taste to the drink, but it wasn’t that taste you’re used to from maraschino cherries.  It was a grown up Shirley Temple!

Our appetizers included fried smelt, a tiny fish from the midwest that you can eat whole, and Oysters Jax.

Wow. Oysters Jax might be one of the better things I have eaten in my life. My dad said he wished he had a camera to take a picture of my face after I ate it. He said it looked like I had just eaten the best thing ever! Nearly true!

“sauce mornay, pancetta, pickled local porcini, chives.”  

Think about that for a minute…and then start drooling! They used local mushrooms too, from Hazel Dell Mushrooms! We are super lucky to have so many local farmers in Boulder!

It only got better from here. Here’s what I chose for dinner:

GRILLED LONG LINE ALBACORE TUNA
handmade gnocchi, olives, tomato, preserved lemon, crispy artichokes

I have a thing for gnocchi right now. These were everything mine weren’t! They were soft pillows of light dough that practically melted in your mouth. It was the crispy artichokes that got me; how does one make a crispy artichoke? The artichokes were cut from the heart, with a very small sliver leaves. They had a light coating of bread crumbs and then were fried. Yum! The perfect compliment to the medium rare tuna that was featured on the plate. A very good choice on my part.

Dessert was the CRÈME BRULÉE TRIO. Our flavors were vanilla, coconut and pomegranate. The coconut was by far my favorite! I could eat the sugary, caramelized topping all by its self!

I felt full for the first time in two weeks after dinner.

I have my camera in my purse so they’ll be picture of delicious food tonight! We still haven’t decided where we want to go, but it will be good no matter where we go! Hope your weekend is going well!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

