Grandma Loretta Bread

My dad grew up with bread at every meal.  Every meal there was a plate stacked high with fresh bread that my Grandma Loretta baked.  Dad says the bread was wheat, but it was a light wheat because it still had pale color.  A true midwest meal always had bread as a part of it. Inspired by this new found knowledge and by Ratio, I am embarking on a bread baking adventure.

Fearful as I am of baking, I will put my trust in the book.

5 parts flour: 2 cups bread flour, 2 cups stone ground whole wheat flour.

2 teaspoons of salt

1 teaspoon active, dry yeast, dissolved in 12 ounces of water.  I also added 1 teaspoon of sugar.


Add liquid to flours and salt mixture and mix until combined.

Then knead your heart out.  When you can stretch a piece of dough so that you can see through it, you have kneaded enough.

I am baking my in the Le Creuset, yet another reason that cast iron is awesome!  Michael Ruhlman suggests that if you bake the bread in a covered dutch oven for the first 30 minutes of cooking, and then remove it to finish cooking, that you achieve the same affect as a professional baking oven that has steam injectors.  SOLD!  My bread is proofing in the fridge right now!

Some snags I ran into:

  • I didn’t quite achieve the window pane effect with my dough where I could see through it.  I might be because I used a heavier flour, but I certainly kneaded that dough for quite some time and the dough was very elastic-y.
  • My yeast didn’t go crazy and bubble.  I’m not sure if you’re supposed to get a volcano effect or if it just slowly rises.  I followed the directions on the back of the package of yeast, so hopefully, it goes well.
  • Kneading hurts my wrists!  Although I did get an arm work out in today.  I was too lazy to do push-ups after I ran this morning.

This one is for Dad and Grandma Loretta!  I wore the apron Grandma Loretta made me when I was a kid while I was baking:

To be continued, the bread takes a while to proof.

Happy eating!

2 thoughts on “Grandma Loretta Bread

  1. Pingback: (Never home) Maker No Knead Bread « Sarah's Cooking

  2. Pingback: So This is Love « Sarah's Cooking

Leave a Reply

