Winter Kale Salad

I woke up today and it looked like this:

Not ideal running weather.  I tried to go out and walk around, but it was way too icy.  And frigid.  It was brisk 15 degrees while I was walking.  No wonder my hands were so cold while I was trying to take pictures.  I really need a pair of gloves.

Any ways, so I decided to make a good lunch before I had to go to work.  I was craving a salad, but that always seems like a spring and summer meal to me.  There’s not many greens that grow during the winter-except kale!

I had never really eaten kale until last year, when my friend made me a massaged kale salad.  It was unlike any salad I’ve ever tasted!  That salad was the inspiration for my lunch.

Winter Kale Salad with Marinated Tofu

For the tofu:

  • 1 block extra firm tofu, drained.
  • 2 tbls red wine vinegar
  • 4 tbls olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced super fine
  • a small squirt of dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste.

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Wrap tofu in paper towels and squeeze extra water out of the block.  Cut into cubes.

Combine the rest of the ingredients and whisk together.  Pour enough marinade on tofu to just dampen it and let rest.

Then place tofu in an oven safe dish and bake until crispy on the outside, about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, make the salad:

  • 1 bunch of kale, torn into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 a large carrot, grated
  • juice of 1/2 a medium lemon
  • 1 tbls toasted sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, depending on how spicy you like it

Place torn kale in bowl with carrot, lemon juice, sesame oil, salt and pepper.  Using your hand, toss the kale with the dressing, but also concentrating on massaging the dressing into the leaves.  This will break down the leaves of kale and they will become wilted, much like spinach.  Massage until the leaves lose their crispness, about 10 minutes.  Add red pepper flakes, cashews and black pepper.  Let stand while the tofu bakes.

Add warm tofu to top of kale salad and enjoy!

You could probably go without baking the tofu if you were in a hurry and it would be just as good.  A perfect, light meal on a snowy day!

I love cashews, pretty much more than any other nut.  Except maybe walnuts.  Just wanted to give a shout out to cashews!

Happy eating!

One thought on “Winter Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

