Baking on a frigid eve

I’m going to be completely honest and serious right now and just say it:

I don’t really like chocolate.

Yes, it is true.  I’ve been told numerous times that I am crazy or that I am weird.  Never the less, I promise you it’s true.  Chocolate ice cream?  I’d rather have plain ole vanilla.  Nilla Wafers?  Yes please.  Brownies?  Eh, I’d rather have blondies.  And that’s when I came upon Evan’s recipe!  Banana blondies with chocolate chips. I could handle that.  A mostly banana flavor with flecks of chocolate?  Sold.  And, I happened to have some super dark chocolate chips laying around.  The darker, the better.  It’s not as sweet when it’s dark.

You must really think I’m crazy.

Any who, here’s the recipe and it came together so fast!

  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance ( You could use a stick of butter as well, but E2 is still haunting me.)
  • 1 cup sugar (I used 1/2 cup honey and they tasted amazing!)
  • 1 cup, 8 oz mashed bananas
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract ( I didn’t have any 😦 the inexperienced baker I am!)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup all purpose flour

Set out Earth Balance to soften.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

After Earth Balance has softened a bit, mix together with honey until the two are incorporated well.  It takes a little while because the honey is so sticky.

Next, add the mashed up banana, salt and chocolate chips (and vanilla if you have it)

Finally, add the flour and stir until just incorporated.  Bake for 40 minutes until the edges are slightly brown or a tooth pick inserted into the center come out clean.

Super yummy and moist!  Happy Eating!

Leave a Reply

