Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe

So, I realized that I never actually posted the recipe for the oatmeal raisin cookies I made.  I was too preoccupied by the forgotten eggs…

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (from The Joy of Cooking)

  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1.5 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2.5 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3.5 cups rolled oats
  • (3/4 cup chopped walnuts)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Mix first 6 ingredients in one bowl (dry ingredients) and the next 5 (wet ingredients) in another.  Add dry to wet and mix until until just incorporated.  Then add raisins, oats and nuts if using.  Bake for 10-12 minutes until the tops are just turning brown.

I forgot that I had walnuts, otherwise I would have added them!

Also, an interesting side note about nutmeg.  I grew up never having really tried nutmeg because both my parents hated the way it tasted.  Nutmeg was always left out of pumpkin pie, cookies, basically anything and everything.  It wasn’t until a couple of years ago, I actually used nutmeg on something that I realized that I actually liked it.  Oddly, I didn’t use nutmeg in it’s normal desert application.  Someone who was cooking for me sprinkled it on steamed vegetables and it was great!  You’d have to really like nutmeg to enjoy it in this way.  I guess I do!

I think I’m going to make banana bread today.  I don’t have as many bananas as Angela, but I have a few in the freezer that need to be used up!  It’s snowing again so it’s time to bake!

Happy eating!

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Recipe

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Baking. « Sarah's Cooking

  2. Pingback: Happy Belated Birthday, Blog! « Sarah's Cooking

  3. Pingback: Sometimes, You Just Need Cookies « Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

