Bread Pudding

When things don’t go your way, or you’re sick like me, if you mix milk, eggs and sugar, you’ll always get custard.  I like that.

It just so happened that I had some “sourdough” bread that was on the edge of going stale.  Perfect bread pudding fixin’s.  And my go-to book, Ratio had the easiest custard recipe in the world.

I’ve been looking at bread pudding recipes for the last three days.  Some suggest you cook the eggs and sugar and scald the milk before you mix them together.  Some of the custard recipes were really complex.  I went back to ole reliable.

Free Standing Custard (adapted from Ratio)

My adaptations to this recipe were to use less milk so my intestines wouldn’t hate me while I ate it.  I also added lemon zest and vanilla to my custard.

  • 1 cup whole cow’s milk
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 4 whole eggs
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon, depends on how much you like cinnamon
  • 2 tsp grated lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • a sprinkle of salt

Here comes the hard part.

🙂

Just kidding.

All you do is mix all those ingredients together in a bowl until well incorporated!  Custard! Well, you have to cook it still, it literally takes five minutes to put this together.

Now, cube up a old loaf of bread that you need to use up.  Place cubes in a greased 8 x8 pan.  If you have more bread, use a larger pan and double the custard recipe.

Pour custard over the top of the bread,

and let it soak for a minimum of 30 minutes.  Press down periodically on the bread/custard mix to help absorption.  The bread should have sopped up most of the custard.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Place bread/custard mix pan into a larger pan and fill the larger pan with warm water, so that it comes about half way up the sides of the pan with bread/custard.  This is called a water bath. It helps to cook the custard more slowly and give it the velvety smooth texture.

Carefully place the 2 pans in the oven and bake for 45 minutes, or until the custard has just set.  Enjoy!

Despite feeling slighty ill still, I had to take a nibble of my creation.

Bread pudding is not the most photogenic food…

I am still in shock at how good this tastes! There’s nothing fancy about this dish; there’s not ingredients that are out of the ordinary.  Milk, eggs, sugar and bread.  Simple ingredients make for a tasty dish!

And I always thought bread pudding was hard to make!

I think this is going to be Valentine’s day dinner dessert!  With some kind of special sauce.  Probably chocolate for TT2.  He does love his chocolate.  Probably caramel for me!

Happy eating!  I’m snuggling with my stuffed bear on the couch, reading cook books.  Very therapeutic!

One thought on “Bread Pudding

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Quiche « Sarah's Cooking

Leave a Reply

