Fresh Ginger Muffins

A few important notes before I give you a super delicious muffin recipe.

I ran six miles today in 55 minutes. For most of my running career, I’ve been a 10 minute mile kind of gal.  But, more recently, I’ve been running in the 8:30-9:00 minute range.  Maybe E2 had something to do with it.  Either way, it’s exciting for me to be “fast.”  ha ha  This seems fast to me!

I am sold on yerba mate tea!  This tea is so great, after you get used to the taste.  I wouldn’t say it has the same lovely taste as Earl Grey; it takes some getting used to.  I used to drink it with lots of honey and milk, and now all I need is a dot of honey.  It gives me the energy that coffee would, without the horrible crash in energy later in the day and nausea that usually accompanies coffee drinking for me.

And I love cashews.  It’s kind of a give that I would also love cashew butter.

Any who, as I was spending hours searching around for recipes to make, and was clicking around on Orangette and came across a post for ginger muffins.  I have had a knob of ginger sitting in my fridge for quite some time now, and it was high time that I used it.  And I had almost all the ingredients on hand to make them.

This almost never happens to me.


Perhaps it is due to the fact that I have not been an avid baker (until recently), but also, there’s always some fancy ingredient that I don’t have that requires a special trip to the grocery store.  No thanks.

Molly, you were right to rave about these.

Fresh Ginger Muffins, adapted slightly from Orangette

  • 3 oz fresh ginger
  • 3/4 + 3 tbls sugar
  • 1 tbls grated lemon zest
  • 1 tbls grated orange zest (I actually used a tangelo, but it’s still like an orange.)
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup soymilk w/ 2 tbls lemon juice, that has sat for 5 minutes until thickened.   (I did not have buttermilk, and this is the vegan version of buttermilk.  If you have buttermilk, sub 1 cup buttermilk instead of soymilk.)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda

Directions: Preheat the oven to 375.

Finely mince ginger with knife or process into mince in food processor.  You should have enough to fill a 1/4 measuring cup.  Place ginger in a small pan with 3 tablespoons sugar and heat until the sugar has dissolved.  Don’t leave! This only takes a couple of minutes.

Zest lemon and orange/tangelo into a small bowl and then combine with 1/4 cup sugar.  Add ginger/sugar mix to the zest mix.


Place butter in bowl and beat until smooth.  Add the remaining 1/2 cup sugar and beat until well incorporated.  Next add the eggs and incorporate.  Add buttermilk and mix throughly.


Finally, add flour, salt and baking soda and sugar/zest/ginger mixture.  Mix until just incorporated.  Spoon into greased muffin tin and bake for 18-20 minutes, or until the edges are just browning.

I need to cook more with citrus zest!  The orange and lemon zest really gave these muffins a flavor boost and was followed by a warm, pleasant sensation from the ginger.  The soy-buttermilk still worked nicely in the recipe too.

I actually remembered to set out the butter and eggs so that they were room temperature and I think that made a difference in the texture of the muffin.  I think these would be really good with a sprinkle of finely chopped crystalized ginger on top, something I will definitely try next time!

I’m off to ice my knees again and it’s another fabulously gorgeous day in Boulder!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

