Weekend

Weekend highlights include:

Volunteering at the Colorado Therapeutic Horseback Riding Center.  I’ve been volunteering there for almost a year and half and it’s one of the best decisions I have ever made.  I get to work with one of the cutest little girls ever, and I get to be around horses for a few hours.  The best of both worlds.

Running 10 miles with Alli.  We had quite a lovely afternoon run on Saturday that meandered through down town Boulder and neighborhoods.  2:00:43 is how long it took us and we were both pretty happy with that.  I’m just happy that I felt so good after being sick for a while.

Yummy home made granola bars from Anne P.  I first saw these bars on Caitlin’s website and they looked so delicious that I found the original recipe on Anne’s website and made them on Friday!  They are super delicious and so so so easy to make.  I don’t want to buy bars ever again, these were so easy!

Five Minute No Bake Peanut Butter bars

Slightly adapted from Anne’s recipe

  • 1 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup puffed millet cereal
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut shreds
  • 1/8 cup ground flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Mix first 7 ingredients together (up to flax seed) in a bowl.

Place last 3 ingredients in a microwave safe bowl and nuke on high for about 30 seconds.

Combine dry and wet ingredients and mix throughly.  Press into a 9 x 13 pan and place in the fridge to set.  Cut into 12 squares when “dough” has set.  Yummy!

I have never cooked with brown rice syrup and it’s really tasty!  It’s sweet, but not overwhelmingly sweet, like straight sugar can be.  These bars had great, chewy texture from the raw oats and crunch from the seeds.  I’ve been bringing these to work every day as an afternoon pick-me-up.  Next time, maybe I’ll add raisins or orange zest!

Mustard is on the agenda for tomorrow!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

