Experiments with butter.

We all know this story:

We buy a bunch of bananas, intending to eat the whole bunch, but for some reason there are always a few left over that turn spotty and brown. I find it odd that people say that these bananas are “rotten” because they are the sweetest and best tasting when they are in this state.

Most folks make banana bread at this point.

I, too, enjoy banana bread, but I used bananas that were “rotting” in Whole Foods, not my house.  The produce manager told me that I could have them for half price since he was going to throw them away.  Sold.

I used the recipe from my favorite book, Ratio.  These were splendid, but I think I like muffins better with oil, not butter.  I enjoy the texture of oil muffins better than the butter ones.  Don’t get me wrong, these muffins tasted amazing and smelled amazing while they were baking, but my mom always made muffins with oil.  I think I’m partial to that taste and texture.

I tried a new experiment and squeezed a small amount of Justin’s Chocolate Almond butter into the center of the muffin in hope of a chocolaty, nutty bomb in the middle of them. I needed to add more though; they only turned out to have a small dot of chocolate in the center.  Still, it was a fun experiment!

Not a chocolate fan, but this stuff is great!  Chocolate and nuts is one of the only ways I enjoy chocolate.

 

 

Banana Bread, adapted from Ratio

  • 1 cup bread flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place stick of butter in a small sauce pan and melt until it turns a pleasant brown color.  Browned butter!  Mix the rest of the wet ingredient together, almond milk, eggs, vanilla and cinnamon.

Mix the remaining dry ingredient together and incorporate the whole mess together.  Don’t over mix or you’ll end up with tough, dry bread!  Mix until just incorporated.

Bake for 30 minutes until the edges are just turning golden, or a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

I was pressing tofu for dinner while cooling the muffins.  This picture shows the great height that the muffins got from the bread flour.  I was out of all purpose flour and used bread flour instead.  They still tasted great!

I left out the part about the chocolate almond butter because I haven’t quite perfected it yet.  But, here’s what they look like.

Buttery, rich and fluffy.  Three descriptions you can’t go wrong with.  These are quick and easy and could either be breakfast or dinner.  Or a snack.  You could really eat them any time of day.  Their dense, moist crumb is what really makes these muffins a winner.

Although I like oil-made muffins better, I certainly have no complaints about this recipe.  This was a win in the butter department!

Happy eating!

 

Leave a Reply

