Breaking Routine

Two important things I have been thinking of:

1. I have a lot of bananas in my freezer.

A lot.

2. I eat a lot of oatmeal, probably 4-5 times a week.  Oatmeal is my breakfast.  It’s one of the only things that keeps me full.  In my second year of college, I ate oatmeal twice a day.  Due to my lack of funds, eating oatmeal was one of the cheapest options.  This also tends to make one get really, really sick of oatmeal.  It was a while before I could eat it without feeling sick.  But, now I’m back on the oatmeal train…with a ton of new ingredients mixed in!  No bowl of oatmeal is every the same.

As much as I enjoy oatmeal again, it’s nice to break up the routine every once in a while.  I was falling asleep on Sunday night, thinking about what different thing I could make for breakfast on Monday morning and then I remembered seeing Angela’s recipe for spelt pancakes for one.  I was on my own for breakfast, so it sounded like a perfect option!  I made a few modifications to the recipe, and it turned out great!

Spelt Pancakes for One, adapted from Angela

  • 1/2 cup of spelt flour, or any flour of your choice
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbls ground flax seeds
  • a splash of vanilla extract
  • 3 tbls brown rice powder
  • a sprinkle of salt.

This is pretty standard and easy.  Place all the ingredients into the mixing vessel of your choice and stir until just incorported.

Lightly spray a pan with cooking spray and pour the batter in.

Flip when golden brown and slightly crispy on the edges!

I had peanut butter, jam, coconut butter and chia seeds on mine and it was an excellent combo!

The thing I liked most about these pancakes was that they were the fluffiest vegan pancakes I have ever made.  The baking powder really gives them the extra lift that’s missing from the eggs.  The extras that I added, banana, cinnamon and vanilla really added to the flavor of the pancakes as well.  It also made just enough pancakes for me.  I even have one giant one left over.

Thanks Angela!  I was a happy camper yesterday morning!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

