Green beans and school.

It’s been a Heidi Swanson week for me.

I bought this last week on payday, and it’s been a worth while investment.  And you should stop by her blog, 101 Cookbooks.  It rocks too!

I planned my whole Saturday grocery shopping around recipes from this cook book.  So far I’ve made:

  • Baby lima bean soup.  It has chipotles in adobo sauce in it, delicious!
  • Sprouted chickpea burgers.  Ok, mine weren’t technically”sprouted” but I made them from dried beans!
  • And shredded green beans.

These took green beans to the next level for me.  As I grow increasingly tired of winter food, a recipe like this one with the zip of lemon and lime zest was exactly what I needed.  And it was super easy.

Another added bonus for me was that I didn’t have to turn my oven on.  My apartment regularly reaches 80 degrees, even when it’s in the 30s outside.  “I feel like I’m in hell”, my sister said once, in reference to how hot my apartment was.  Yes, it gets that hot.

I turned my air conditioning on at 6:45 am on Tuesday morning because I was sticking to my computer chair.  It’s year round summer in my apartment.

Any ways.  Green beans.  Here what you need:

  • roughly 1 pound of green beans.  I’m not quite sure how much I had, but I’d say about a pound.
  • 2 tbls olive oil
  • 2 tbls water
  • zest of 1 lemon and 1 lime
  • squirt of lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped chives
  • s + p

This is really the easiest thing in the whole world.  Heat up a pan on the stove and while you’re waiting for it to heat up, chop the green beans on a diagonal.

I don’t think all of mine ended up being diagonal, but they were in small pieces.

Next, add the green beans and oil to the pan and toss until the beans are covered with the oil.  Then, add the water and cover, steaming only for just a few minutes to retain their crispness.

Removed from the heat and zest citruses into the pot and add half the chives.

Hmmm, my kitchen smelled amazing last night!  Add a small squirt of lemon juice from the lemon and  s +p to taste.

Place beans in a serving dish and sprinkle on the remaining chives.

This was incredibly easy, yet it was just what I was craving.  The citrus lightened up the whole dish and really woke up my senses after a long day of work.  The chives add a very nice, subtle hint on onion as well.

Dinner last night:  Citrusy green beans with a chickpea burger (also a Heidi Swanson creation) with ketchup and local Boulder mustard.

Zesting the lime reminds me of gin and tonics.  G n’ Ts remind me of summer.  Summer makes me happy.  Is it summer yet?

In other news:

I mailed off my Johnson and Wales application!  Whoo!  Like a true Boulderite, I ran to the post office with the letter in my hand to mail.  My pepper spray was in the other hand, but that’s a story for another time.

I feel many things right now, excited, nervous, crazy.  It’s a big change for me, but it’s going to be a good one, I know it!

Happy eating!

2 thoughts on “Green beans and school.

Leave a Reply

