Vegan Enchiladas

In my quest to lower cholesterol, I am tweaking my diet a bit to help my heart along.  I only have one egg in my fridge…and I didn’t buy any grocery shopping.  I spent 80 bucks on groceries yesterday and the only meat products I bought were shrimp and two chicken thighs.

So of course, I miss eggs.  I saw Caitlin’s post on how to properly scramble an egg…and it made me long for one.  Soon, I’ll eat you, egg in the refrigerator.

Hello, vegan enchiladas.

These bad boys are one of the best vegan creations that I have made to date. I grew up eating my mom’s chicken enchiladads, which are amazing. Mine are made with chickpeas, pretty much the best bean ever.  Chipotles in adobo sauce = amazing flavor.

Vegan Enchiladas

  • 2 cups of chickpeas, cooked from dry or canned.

  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/2 a large yellow onion
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1 cup frozen spinach
  • 1 tbls chipotle sauce + 1 pepper, minced
  • 1 tbls cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • s + p
  • 1 package of Ezikiel whole grain wraps (or other tortilla of your choice)
  • 1 large can of enchilada sauce.  I used green, but red would work nicely here too.
  • Salsa and nutritional yeast for garnishing.

Spectator!

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Saute onions until they are just translucent.  Then add the pepper, garlic and spinach.  Cook for a few minutes until the rest of the ingredients soften up a bit and then add the chipotle sauce, cumin, paprika, salt and pepper.  Finally, add the chickpeas.  Let cool.

Frozen chipotles…because I’m too big of a wimp to use an entire can in one recipe.

Distribute the filling evenly amongst 5 of the whole grain tortillas and roll them up so that the filling stays contained on the inside of the tortilla.  Place in a greased 9 x 13 pan and cover with enchilada sauce.  Sprinkle nutritional yeast over the top and place in the oven until everything is warmed through, about 15 minutes.

Garnish with your favorite toppings!  I dumped more enchilada sauce and salsa on top of mine!  Guacamole is also a most excellent addition!

YUM!  I’ve been taking these to work for lunch this week.

In a related side note, I had a wave of home sickness pass over me while I was cooking.

The smell of cumin reminds me so strongly of my mom.  It’s her favorite spice and mine too.  The smell of it takes me right back to her kitchen, sitting at the bar and watching her cook dinner.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

