Easter Apple Pie.

Sunday was Easter and while my family never celebrated the “traditional” way, we always had a big family dinner.  Eats usually included ham, scalloped potatoes, and green beans.  It was all finished off with a big apple crisp or an apple pie.

I was feeling rather homesick this week, perhaps because Easter always reminds me of family and I had just seen my mom.  I decided to make Easter dinner to make me feel better, or at least the desert portion.  Buying a 60 dollar ham for two people seemed a little silly.  And my credit card wouldn’t have been very pleased either.

I am calling this “Easter Apple Pie” but in my house growing up, apple pie was made in celebration of everything.  Birthdays, Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, just because, you name it, in our house it was apple pie.  Some celebrate with cake. You can keep your cake and I’ll take my pie.  More pie for me!

Any Occasion Apple Pie

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Filling

  • 4 granny smith apples
  • 2 sweet apples (I used braeburns)
  • 5 tbls sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • a few shavings of lemon zest
  • 3 tbls flour
Peel apples and slice into small cubes.  I’d say mine were about the size of dice.  Add the remaining ingredients and stir well.  Set aside to prepare topping.
Topping
  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 stick frozen butter
Place ingredients into a food processor until all is well incorporated.  It should look like fine bread crumbs.
Pour apple mixture into 1 pre-made pie crust.  (Yeah, I took a little short cut here.  My Tita (aunt) Anne is one of the best cooks I know, and she uses a pre-made pie crust.  I feel ok about using pre-made pie crust.)  Add topping evenly over the top of the apples.
Bake for about 45 minutes, or until the apples are soft and the top is golden.
Those little bits of left over crust that you cut off around the edges to make the crust fit are really tasty if you bake them with cinnamon and sugar.  That’s what’s on the plate next to the delicious pie!  This may have made me more home sick, because when I opened the oven, it smelled like Christmas, my birthday and Easter, all rolled into one giant holiday.
Sweet apples baked with spicy cinnamon = home for me!
Make sure you add the flour.  I forgot and I had a really soupy pie on my hands.  It still tasted fantastic.  The topping might not be something you’re used to, but give it a whirl; I promise you’ll like it.  The butter binds the flour and sugar together to make an incredible crunchy, caramelized sugary topping.  The apples give it the perfect mix of sweet and tart.  This is really the total package.
Who doesn’t like apple pie any ways?  If you don’t, we’re probably not friends.
Easter dinner wasn’t half bad either.
A real meat and potatoes kind of day.  But, don’t we all need that every once in a while?
Til next time, happy eating!
Leave a Reply

