Home “grown” Kombucha.

GT’s kombucha, how I love you.

You and your delightful bubbly-ness and your floating chunks of mushroom.  That doesn’t sound that great, but if you’re a komucha lover, you know what I’m talking about.  In that weird, stringy, mushroom-like thing, there’s a bundle full of nutrients and probotics.  It gives me that extra boost I need when I’m feeling run down.

My soon-to-be culinary student budget won’t allow me to buy GTs every day, but never fear!  I’ve found directions online to make my own!  They can be found here.  You start by boiling one cup of water with 2 tablespoons of sugar until the sugar has dissolved.  Then, take it off the heat and add one black tea bag.

When that cools to room temperature, remove the tea bag and add at least 1/2 a cup of bottled kombucha, stringy mushrooms and all.  And then you wait for it to GROW!  It needs at least a week to form a small “mother” mushroom.  Here’s mine after 3 days:

A little bit of growth!  But not anything to brew kombucha with yet.  More pictures to come!

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

