Spinach Walnut Pesto

Pesto.

Quite possibly one of my favorite sauces in the world.  Seriously.  Who would have thought that combining basil, pine nuts, olive oil, garlic and a wee bit of salt would make such a delicious thing?  Pesto noodles are always the first thing requested of my mom when we go home too.  I could eat a pound of pasta slathered with pesto.

Well, certain circumstances don’t allow me to by pine nuts.  Who can pay 5 bucks for 1/4 cup of pine nuts?  Basil also gets pricey, since you need quite a bit to make a decent amount of pesto.

Luckily, there’s a ton of other greens out there.  Like spinach!  You can buy an entire one pound box of spinach for 5 bucks!  It’s also Taste Tester’s favorite vegetable.  There’s also many, many different kinds of nuts to choose from too, like walnuts, a favorite of mine,

Are you thinking what I’m thinking?  Spinach walnut pesto…yes!  That’s exactly what I was thinking!  It tastes almost identical to me basil pesto to me.  I put it on pizza last night and my friend couldn’t tell the difference.

As an added bonus, this is also vegan because I chose to omit the parmesan cheese.  If you’re not a lac-tard like me, add some parmesan cheese.  It still tastes absolutely wonderful without it though.

Spinach Walnut Pesto

  • 1/3 cup toasted walnuts
  • 2 cups, packed, of spinach
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2-3 ish tbls olive oil
  • pinch of salt
Put walnuts, spinach, salt and garlic into food processor and pulse until somewhat combined.  You may need to take the lid off and push the spinach down closer to the blades.  Slowly add olive oil, one tablespoon at a time, until every ingredient is well combined and is your desired consistency.  I left mine a little bit thicker because my ultimate goal was to put it on pizza!
I like a pretty thick layer of pesto on my pizza!  I was so excited how this turned out!  It was just what I was craving, without putting a giant dent in my wallet.  There’s a subtle hint of raw spinach, but only a touch.  It adds a nice, earth flavor, combined with the spicy raw garlic and smoothy, ever so rich, lemony flavor of the olive oil.  Simple ingredients, thoughtfully prepared.  (That’s a saying from my dad!)
Fantastic on my pizza, chicken, artichoke hearts, asparagus, olives and soy cheese.  YUM!
Happy eating!
One thought on “Spinach Walnut Pesto

  1. Pingback: True Love Goat Cheese « Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

