Sarah the Baker

I’ve been doing a lot of baking lately.  At least in the past two days and I never thought I’d say that!  Really, I’ve always been more of a cook than a baker.  The blogs I read have inspired me to bake more though.

Protein much?

I have seen the buckwheat bake from Ashley around the blog world a few times now and decided I needed to jump on the bandwagon.  I made a few modifications to mine though:

  • I added pumpkin seeds instead of walnuts because I couldn’t find my walnuts.  Really, who loses food?
  • I added pumpkin instead of a banana because I had an open can that I needed to use up.  Mine wasn’t sweet enough, next time I will use banana.
  • I used quinoa flour instead of buckwheat.  I’m trying to eat more protein with my breakfast, and I figured if one could grind their own buckwheat flour, why not quinoa?  I just ground mine up in my food processor.  I also added some whole, cooked quinoa in place of the raw buck wheat groats in Ashely’s original recipe.
I didn’t have time for mine to bake fully; I think flours without gluten take longer to bake than those with.  My bake ended up being more like pudding consistency, but it still was super good!  I added honey and coconut butter to the top of mine.  I liked all of the crunchy seeds mixed in with quinoa.  It was a pleasant Sunday morning breakfast.

Not oatmeal. I'm getting mighty sick of oatmeal.

This morning I made Anne’s Whole Wheat Carrot Cake Muffins, sort of.  Turns out that the recipe calls for applesauce, which I did not have.  I did have pumpkin still, so I just used that instead.  Then, I didn’t have enough pumpkin.  Ahhh.  This is why I don’t bake; I never have all the ingredients I need.
I figured that the pumpkin was replacing oil, which it turns out, I did have a lot of oil laying around.  I topped off the 1 cup measuring cup with canola oil and poured it into the bowl, put it in a loaf pan because I was feeling too lazy to clean a muffin pan, put in the oven and hoped for the best.
The batter was really, really thick, but the final product was amazing!  The bread was super dense and moist. (This is the only time I use moist, in reference to food.)  The bread didn’t taste overwhelmingly like pumpkin and raisins added a nice, chewy contrast to soft bread.
I’ve also been growing this:

Looks gross, tastes amazing!

It’s my kombucha mother!  I made myself from GT’s bottled kombucha.  I realize that this looks really sick, but it excites me so!  I don’t have the greenest thumb in the world, let’s just say that.  But, I can grow this!  Soon I’ll have home made kombucha!

Almost ready to brew kombucha!

Well, I’m off to Pearl Street to spend money that I don’t have!  Happy eating!  And baking I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

