“When life gives you lemons, say ‘fuck the lemons’ and bail.”

Any “Forgetting Sarah Marshall” fans out there?  That’s kind of how I feel right about now.  The weather matches my mood leftover from last night:

Did all of Seattle's weather come here?

Grumpy weather-I had a bad night last night-face.

Can I sleep with you?

What do you do when life gives you lemons?  I cook.  I have always done this after really bad days.  Every time I’ve had a break up: long drive and then cook a giant meal.  Stressed about school?  Let’s make some involved production of a dinner that will distract me from studying.  I may have inherited this from my mom.  The morning we found out my uncle had passed away, she made us a giant breakfast to make everyone feel better.

I had a real lemon of a night last night at work and I have been trying to make myself feel better this morning.  I made myself some vegan pancakes from the Bob’s Red Mill whole grain mix.  I am obsessed with this mix.  Thanks for the tip Mom!  I added part of a chai tea bag’s spices and that was a good decision.

Yellow + yellow = sunshine and happiness. Yeah, I painted that mug. No big deal.

I drank yerba mate out of my happy mug and then made some cilantro jalapeño hummus.

Slightly weird color, but tastes amazing!

I’ve been thinking about this ever since I read about Katie’s boyfriend making it on her blog.  I had part of a jalapeño, bought some cilantro, whipped up a batch of beans from scratch and used peanut butter instead of tahini.  Happy time again.

Sarah’s Cilantro and Jalapeño Hummus

  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 a jalapeño, unseeded
  • 1 generous handful of cilantro
  • 1.5 cups freshly cooked chickpeas (or 1 can)
  • 1 tbls peanut butter
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 3 tbls oilve oil
  • salt to taste
Directions:
  • Place garlic, jalapeño, and cilantro in food processor and grind until well broken down.
  • Next, add the chickpeas and lemon juice.  Process.
  • Add peanut butter and 1 tablespoon oilve oil and process.  Add the second tablespoon of olive oil and process.  Add final tablespoon of oil and process until smooth.
  • Add salt to taste.
Stuff your face with super delicious hummus!

I will eat you for lunch.

Bright and fresh from the lemon juice, zippy from the jalapeños and earthy from the cilantro.  This is one of my better hummus creations.  I used peanut butter simply because I didn’t have tahini.  When I do buy it, I don’t know what else to do with it except for make hummus, so it just sits and sits in the back of my fridge.  This hummus was still amazing.  I’m thinking a wrap with this hummus and tofu for lunch…:)

Currently, I am cooking brown rice in my slow cooker and just finished poaching chicken thighs.  Going to make some stuffed peppers.  I also made myself a juice and I drinking it out of my happy mug.

I feel better already.

Normally, running makes me feel better as well, but my legs are pretty tired these days and I need to save them for my long run on Sunday.

It was clear for a brief second on Tuesday night and I tried to capture the full moon:

Trying to figure out how to use my camera at night.  I wanted to be able to see the man in the moon in my picture, but I have yet to figure that setting out.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

