Chicken-Chickpea Stuffed Peppers

Hey good lookin'

I know I have made stuffed peppers before. But, those were vegan and something about that seitan didn’t sit right with me.  It is a lot of wheat to digest.  These that I just whipped up have some chicken thighs in them and some chickpeas, because I love chickpeas and just cooked up another giant batch of them.  Not kidding, I probably ended up with almost four cups of chickpeas.  These peppers will be in my belly for lunch!

Chicken-Chickpea Stuffed Peppers

  • 4 green peppers, tops cut out, seeds and core removed
  • 1/2 a large onion
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1 medium carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 broccoli stem, finely chopped (I randomly found this in my fridge, it’s definitely not essential to this recipe.)
  • 1 cup frozen kale
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 3 cooked chicken thighs, shredded or chopped.
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup chopped black olives
  • zest of half a lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • nutritional yeast
Method:
Preheat the oven to 425 °F.
Saute in a pan the onion, garlic, carrot and broccoli stem (if using).  Cook until the onions are translucent and everything is well cooked through.  Turn off burner and add kale.
Combine the last 7 ingredients in a bowl.  Mix well.  Add the remaining ingredients from the pan on the stove and mix well.
Place peppers in an 8×8 pan, or the smallest one you can find.  Stuff peppers with filling until they are very full.  The filling will cook down in the oven.  Sprinkle the top of the peppers with nutritional yeast and bake in the oven until the filling is well heated through and the peppers are soft, 30 – 40 minutes.

The sun stayed out just long enough for pictures!

Pretty easy, right?  I always forget about how easy making these are and you can add whatever ingredients you want.  I was clearly cleaning out my fridge…broccoli stem?  Who has one of those laying around?  Cheese would be another good addition to this.  Make em vegan by getting rid of the chicken and adding more chickpeas!  The possibilities are endless!  Also, I had filling left over.  You could probably get another 1 or 2 peppers out of the extra.
Today, I’m on a quest to find a healthy baked good that I can make for Taste Tester.  I wanted to make cinnamon rolls, but he informed me that he would only try them.  He’s trying to lay off the sugar; is it possible to make baked breakfast treats with minimal sugar?  I’m going to try!
Happy eating!

Olive fingers!

P.S.  Am I the only one that played with olives like this when I was a kid?  I loved eating them off my fingers.  Or stuffing them with cubes of jack cheese and then eating them.
Leave a Reply

