Vegan Cornmeal Blueberry Muffins

Blue plate & blueberries. I like blue.

This is a picture of the best muffin in the world.  There are a lot of baked goods out there in the world, but this is my favorite muffin for a number of reasons.  Cornmeal blueberry muffins are much more exciting that plain ole blueberry muffins.  The cornmeal gives these muffins some texture that regular flour doesn’t.  They’re hardier, with a slight crunch from the cornmeal.

My mom made these growing up, which of course makes them great. Anything made by my mom is great, but especially these.  I used to special request these for breakfast and for that, I was always the one that got to lick the bowl.  Best part of baking, right?

Well, per request of Taste Tester’s health (and mine), I set out on a mission to make these a bit healthier.  Now, they’re vegan and whole wheat.  They still look like my mom’s.  Except for the chia seeds dotting the batter.  Those definitely weren’t there!

Vegan Cornmeal Blueberry Muffins

Dry:

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2/3 cup cornmeal
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
Wet:
  • 1/2 cup vegan sour cream (I used Toffuti!)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • chia/flax egg (1.5 tbls chia seeds, 1.5 tbls ground flax, 9 tbls water)
  • 1/4 cup oil of your choice
  • 1/2 a pint of fresh blueberries.
Method:
Preheat the oven to 375°F.
Combine chia and flax seeds in water and let them soak to thicken.
Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl and the wet in another.  Add chia/flax egg to the wet ingredients.
Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and incorporate until just mixed.  Fold in the blueberries.
Drop scoops of batter into a greased muffin pan.  Bake for 30 minutes, or until the tops are golden and a toothpick inserted comes out clean!

I hate cleaning muffin tins. But I love muffins. I am a walking oxymoron.

These muffins are my favorite simply because they remind me of home and a simpler time.  I ate these back in the day when I could spend an hour watching my mom mix these together and not worry about what I needed to be doing.  I’d park myself at the bar that overlooked the kitchen and watch my mom make these, just because I asked her too.  There’s something to be said about that-things made just for you by your mother.  I would lick the bowl and peer through the oven window, anxiously awaiting the arrive of these.  I’d peel the crunchy top off the still-too-hot muffin and devour it.   And then eat two more after that.

Just like these that I made.  They still retain the moisture of non vegan muffins and still taste pretty darn close to the ones I remember.  There’s still a crunchy top to peel off and there’s still hot, juicy blueberries that burst in your mouth.  They’re still slightly crunchy in texture and they’re still really, really, good.  They’re just a bit healthier for me.

Love in the form of a muffin.

Thanks, Mom.  Thanks for always making these for me.  Thanks for teaching me the importance of eating together with your family and for teaching me how to cook for those I love.

Happy eating!

3 thoughts on “Vegan Cornmeal Blueberry Muffins

  1. Pingback: Vegan Orange Cranberry Muffins « Sarah's Cooking

  2. Pingback: True Love Goat Cheese « Cook/Write

  3. Pingback: Cornmeal Blueberry Muffins II « Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

