Green Monster.

If you haven’t gotten on the Green Monster band wagon, then you’re a little late to the party.

Yum. Promise it's good and you can't taste the greens.

I’ll admit that I just discovered Green Monsters late last year, but I’m a pretty big fan.  Basically, you’re just adding GREENS to your smoothies, spinach and kale being the greens of choice.  Kale isn’t for the faint of heart, especially if you’re going to put them raw into your smoothie.  I’ve found that frozen spinach and kale work just as great, and you don’t need to add ice because they’re frozen!  

My green monster this morning consisted of:

  • 1 sliced frozen banana
  • handful of frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup frozen kale
  • about 3/4 cup combined of almond milk and coconut water
  • 1 tbls chia (or flax) seeds
  • a scoop of raw sunflower seed butter

Whir it around in the food processor (or a blender if you’re really cool) and you’ll have yourself a green monster!

So thick you need a spoon! Add more liquid if you want it thinner.

So, that was part of my breakfast this morning.  Give it a shot – you might be surprised.  And it’s a good way to get your vegetables in!

Happy eating!

2 thoughts on “Green Monster.

  1. Hey Sarah!

    Just saw your comment about stress on Caitlins blog and figured you would like to take a gander at my blog.

    I’m documenting my whole experience through culinary school including the stress 🙂

    Good luck to you, girl!

    • Hey Val!

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! I took a quick peek at yours and your school looks really cool! The balancing money posts are really great-I’m going making less money going to school and it’s something that worries me a lot. Looks like you’re having fun so I can only assume I will too!

Leave a Reply

