Tamale Pie and 5 miles to Led Zeppelin

 

 

“We come from the land of ice and snow/from the midnight sun where the hot springs blow.”

Immigrant Song anyone?  I was jamming to Led while I ran 5 miles yesterday.  5 seems so short these days!  Ha ha, I’m looking forward to the days where I can run short runs all the time.  I’m worn out!

I thought Boulder was done with all it’s weird Seattle like weather, but apparently not.  I woke up yesterday to gray skies and drizzle.  It was a bonus that it was warmer outside though.  50 degress is perfect running weather, but it was really sticky and damp outside.  My body doesn’t know how to handle moisture.  It thrives in the dryness!

Any who, I came home and made Mama Pea’s Tamale Pie, or some version of it, after I ran.  I’d just like to say a huge thank you to Mama Pea, for providing me with a recipe that one can make with meager groceries.  It’s been pretty slim pickin’s for Taster Tester and I the last few days.

I did make a few modifications to the original recipe, and it still turned out really great!

  • I didn’t have any tempeh, so I just doubled up on the kidney beans.  Still delicious and I’m not a super fan of tempeh.  It made me feel gross last time I ate it.
  • I added cumin and omitted the chili powder.  1. I love cumin, more than any other spice and 2. I couldn’t find my chili powder.  That’s what I get for buying bulk spices and throwing all those bags haphazardly into a drawer.  (I found it right after I put the pie in the oven.)
  • I didn’t have any cheese but I sprinkled nutritional yeast over the top of the cornbread and it was yummy!

Do yourself and favor and head over to Mama Pea’s blog.  Tamale Pie’s not the only thing you’ll want to make!

 

Who doesn't love cornbread? Come on now...

Leave a Reply

