Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble and IT band issues.

This is what was left of my strawberry rhubarb crumble the day after I made it:

Someone ate all the cobbler...and it wasn't me or the cat.

I should consider that a compliment.  If someone eats most (almost all!) of something I make, they probably liked it.  ha ha  I’ve been eyeing rhubarb in the store for a while.  I’ve only cooked with rhubarb one other time and that was last summer.  I found a recipe for Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble on 101 Cookbooks and my recipe is inspired by that.

 

Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler

Filling:

  • a 2 pound package of strawberries
  • 5 large rhubarb stalks
  • 1.2 cups sugar
  • 1 tbls cornstarch (note: flour is not a replacement for cornstarch.  Trust me, it makes for a very juicy crumble.)
Topping:
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • a handful of walnuts
  • 1/4 cup oats
Directions:
Mix filling ingredients in a large bowl and set aside.
Combine flour, sugar, butter and walnuts in food processor and process until mixed, but not completely smooth.  You want some chunks in there.  Then, add the oats and process just a few times.  You want to see big pieces of oats in your topping.
Spray and 8 x 8 pan with non stick spray and add the filling to the dish.  Crumble sprinkle oat mixture over the top and bake for 35 minutes.

Such a deep, pretty red!

 

 

The topping tastes like an oatmeal cookie!  Oatmeal cookie over the top of sweet juicy strawberries and tangy rhubarb?  Sign me up!  We finished it last night.  I wish I had more right now!  Definitely add the cornstarch.  Mine was SUPER juicy.  Still amazing though!

 

 

In other news, my illotial band in my left leg hates me.

 

See the tiny blue muscle on the outside of this knee? Mine inflamed and tender like none other. Thanks, marathon training.

 

 

I went to physical therapy yesterday and got my knee destroyed worked on.  I also got some dry needling done on it, which is similar to acupuncture.  That hurt like nothing else either.  I see lots of stretching and foam rolling in my future!

 

 

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

