Breakfast.

I’m on a mission to find some more interesting breakfasts.  My breakfasts usually consist of one of 3 things:

  • nut butter on toast with jelly
  • frozen waffles with nut butter and jelly
  • oatmeal with fun toppings
Clearly, nut butter is a trend in my life, especially cashew.  The thought of oatmeal in 90 degree weather is not pleasant.  I don’t like to break a sweat while eating breakfast.  Yes, it’s that hot in my apartment.   And it’s not that I don’t enjoy nut butter and jelly, it’s just boring eating the same thing every morning.  So, I’ve  been experimenting!
1. Banana walnut muffins.

Hey yummy muffin!

These were pretty tasty.  I found this recipe on Elana’s Pantry and wanted to try baking with coconut flour.  This flour has lots of fiber in it, so I thought it would keep me fuller longer.  Unfortunately, I was hungry shortly after I finished eating 2 of these.  The problem is that the muffins are very flat and small because they are gluten free.  They were really great tasting, probably one of the better banana muffins I made lately, but they weren’t filling.

 

Trying to place my food in an aesthetic way...

 

 

2. Frittata.

 

 

This is basically eggs with whatever ingredients you want mixed in and baked in the oven.  Mine had red peppers, artichoke hearts, and goat cheese.

 

 

I love eggs!

 

 

 

 

I made mine with four eggs and 1/2 a cup of egg whites.  Again, this was really tasty and became a great packed lunch for work, but it wasn’t filling at all.  Even when I ate a piece of toast with it, it still didn’t fill me up for as long as I wanted.  It left me wanting something more, like nut butter and toast.  ha ha

 

 

The quest  continues for me to find a good summer breakfast.  What do you eat for breakfast?  Any ideas for me?

 

 

Happy hot weather eating!

2 thoughts on “Breakfast.

  1. I love reading your posts, Sarah! I love the healthy suggestions! For breakfast, I usually eat a bowl of oatmeal or cream of wheat made with oat milk or regular milk. I stir in manuka honey and a mashed banana and call it banana bread in a bowl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

