Sarah’s Eats, Day 1

Hey everyone!

I’m currently obsessed with Ashley and Stephen’s blog and reading all about their running and amazing food.  I just stumbled upon Ashley’s food dairy that she wrote for 8 days and thought it would be incredibly enlightening for myself.  I have noticed lately that I can’t find a good balance of food that helps me feel satisfied for very long.  I eat breakfast and usually within 3 hours eat lunch.  I’ll eat a snack in the afternoon, sometimes 2 and then eat dinner.  I’ll probably have a little something before I go to bed too.  I’d like it if my meals lasted me a little longer and kept me going for longer.  So, here’s day one’s eats:

Breakfast: 2 pieces raisin toast with approximately 2.5 tablespoons of nut butter.

Lunch: Kale salad with 1 tomato, hearts of palm, half a block of tofu and dressed with lime and olive oil.  1/2 a bagel with 2 tablespoons of hummus and a serving a Cabot Cheddar Cheese.

Dinner:  1/2 a leftover bowl of Noodles Pad Thai with the other half of my tofu block.

Snack: 1 medium banana with a packet of Justin’s almond butter.  2 fig netwons.

Snack: 3 multigrain Wasa crackers with hummus and 1/2 a serving of Cabot cheese.

 

Now that I’m looking at this, it doesn’t seem like much.  I’d say that lunch kept me full and alert the longest.  I didn’t need to snack between lunch and dinner.  Dinner was disappointing and left me wanting more soon afterwards, hence the 2 snacks.  I’d estimate that my total calorie intake was about 1,970 calories, but this is a pretty rough estimate.  When in doubt, I added more calories than I thought.

 

Things to keep in mind:

  • I ran for 30 minutes today.  Burned probably about 300 calories.
  • I have been trying to exercise 6 days a week, which really makes the metabolism sky rocket.  Consistency is good for the bum knees.
  • I think lunch was the most satisfying because it had the most fat, and was the most bulky.  I ate probably 2-3 cups of kale in my salad.
Any who, that’s it for now. We’ll see what tomorrow brings!  I got some great breakfast recipes from Ashley’s food diary!
Happy eating!
Leave a Reply

