Caramelized Onion, Mushroom and Goat Cheese Quiche

Lunch tomorrow at work!

 

Quiche and I have a love hate relationship.  I won’t get into great detail about why quiche and I broke up, but let’s just say that I was at a wedding, consumed mass quantities of miniature quiches and then got the stomach flu hours later.  I’ll let you fill in the details, but I can’t eat quiche without thinking about that time.

 

I set out on a mission to change that this weekend.  Quiche is so easy!  It’s a simple ratio of eggs and milk.  It’s actually the same ratio that I used to make bread pudding way back when.  I used  Micheal Ruhlman‘s custard ratio from his book, and it worked like a dream again!  Even with my modification of almond milk.   Here’s what you need to make my amazing quiche:

 

  • 1 store bought pie crust (yes, I’m lazy)
  • 4 whole eggs
  • 1 cup cow’s milk
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • olive oil
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 cup white mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese
Heads up, this takes a while to bake, about an hour and a half, so if you’re making this for breakfast, start early!
Ok, ready to make this?  It’s actually very easy, especially since we’re being lazy and buying our crust.  Take that crust out of the freezer/fridge and defrost it!  Line the pie crust with parchment paper and then fill with dried beans or pie weights.  We’re preventing the pie from bubbling up and getting soggy during cooking.  No one like soggy crust!  Then, place in a 350 degree oven to “blind bake” the crust for 15 minutes.
Next, grab yourself a pan and brown your mushrooms (at medium heat) in olive oil.  When those are finished, lower the heat on your pan to medium low and throw your sliced onions in.  Wait for it, wait for it, wait…now they’re done!  Jenna has an excellent explanation on how to caramelize onions.
Grab a bowl and add your eggs and milks.  You could definitely use all cow’s milk if you’re not a lac-tard like me!  Whisk the two together and add a pinch of salt and pepper to taste.  Lay caramelized onions and mushrooms in the bottom of the crust and then fill with the egg/milk mixture.  Add crumbled goat cheese to the top and bake in a 325 degree oven for 1.5 hours.
Quiche for the win!
I actually enjoyed this quiche.  At first I wasn’t sure, but then I sat quietly and ate and really concentrated and it was amazing.  There are fewer great pleasures the creamy, smooth texture of custard.  Especially when you add tart goat cheese, earthy mushrooms and sweet onions.  It was the perfect combination of flavors and it made an excellent breakfast yesterday.  And and great lunch to today.  And tomorrow.
You can’t keep me away from the quiche now!  Well, that’s an exaggeration.  I don’t think I’m ready for a full committment yet, quiche.  But, I’d say you’re pretty all right.
Happy eating!
Leave a Reply

