Beans and reads

Have you heard of anasazi beans?  I hadn’t either until I ventured into a big Whole Foods and saw them in a bulk bin.  Their bright and mottled appearance drew me to them!

Beans!

Indie liked the beans too!

Her head looks crazy in this picture!

With about five minutes of research, I can tell you that anasazi beans are beans that were eaten and cultivated by the Anazasi Indians that lived in Colorado (!) and New Mexico.  They were discovered at an archeological dig in the 1950s in a sealed jar.  Modern anazasi beans were sprouted from these and we are eating ancient beans today!  This could be a myth, but I hope not because it’s such a cool story!  “Anasazi” roughly translates to “ancient ones.”  They are a cousin to the kidney bean, except these are way better looking than kidney.  Sorry kidney beans, but the truth hurts.

I bought these probably about two weeks ago and forgot about them until I opened the random paper bag on the floor.  But, I will be eating them tomorrow!  They’re soaking in my fridge to be cooked tomorrow!

Soak away, my little legumes!

I can’t wait to try them!  A fact about myself: when I was little, I wanted to be a Native American.  I was convinced that I was Native American and that my ancestors were Cherokee, or some other tribe near Big Bear.  That’s a story for another time, but as it turns out, I have no Native American ancestors.  My parents assured me of this fact, but I still clung to hope for a while when I was younger that there was some long lost relative that had cooked wild onion soup on a tripod, just like I was doing.  Yeah, I really did that and then made my brother eat it.  Maybe I was drawn to these beans because of my heritage…

At the risk of letting you know how big of a geek I am, researching food and reading on a Saturday night, here’s some good reading for you.  This is what hangs near my kitchen and reminds me why I cook:

“There are things you do because they feel right & then make no sense & they may make no money & it may the real reason we are here: to love each other & to eat each other’s cooking & say it was good.”

This is from a Story People drawing and I fell in love with it the instant I saw it.  It is so very fitting for my life.  Be well and happy eating!

Leave a Reply

