Clean out your fridge: slow cooker soup edition

I love you, slow cooker

I went on a mission the days I had off this weekend to make large quantities of food.  I wanted to make enough to last me throughout this week, so that I could have dinners waiting for me to take to work, or lunches to eat on the fly.  I have done more car eating than I care to in the last two and half months.  I made Faith’s Sweet Tater Enchilada Pie on Friday night, and froze three portions of it.  Saturday night, I took out my chicken in the freezer to defrost and made this slow cooker soup.  I froze two portions of it and sent one with the BF to work.  He looked pretty cute leaving the apartment with his little tupperware of soup.

 

 

Clean Out Your Fridge: Chicken Vegetable Slow Cooker Soup

This soup is a great way to use up leftover vegetables in your fridge that have accumulated throughout the week.  It’s also great for that person you know who isn’t fond of tomatoes (cough cough, boyfriend)  It couldn’t be easier to assemble either.  Throw it all into your slow cooker and cook on high until the chicken is falling apart and off the bone.

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon of oil, your choice

half a yellow onion, chopped

half a green pepper, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 chicken, parted and bone in

1 zucchini, chopped

1 head of broccoli, chopped

1 jalepeno, minced

1 bullion cube

5 cups of water

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon oregano

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Turn on slow cooker to high setting.

2. Add chicken parts, and then add remaining vegetables and spices on top.

3.  Add water and bullion cube.  If you had some type of broth on hand, like vegetable or chicken, this would be a great replacement for the water/bullion cube duo.

4.  Cook on high for roughly 3 hours, or until the chicken in falling off the bone and shreds easily with a fork.  Don’t forget to take out the bones from the chicken!

Notes:

  • You could use boneless chicken here and make it a little easier on yourself.
  • Adding more spices is an option too.  I might top my leftovers with cumin or curry.
  • Up the heat!  Add cayenne or more jalepeno!
  • Chiles in adobo sauce would be a lovely addition here too.
  • Top with cheese or eat with cheese.  I’m partial to the goat, but the options are limitless!

Cheese and crackers and soup. Comfort food at its finest.

If you try it out, let me know what you think.  I think of all my recipes as works in progress.
I also made a batch of oats the size of my head.

Big ole pot of oatmeal

Holy oatmeal

Be well and happy eating!
Leave a Reply

