Good read that made me happy

A quick post on a busy day of school and work, but I thought I’d leave you with a poem that’s been making me really happy as of late:

The Orange

At lunchtime I bought a huge orange-

The size of it made us all laugh

I peeled it and shared it with Robert and Dave-

They got quarters, and I had a half.

And that orange, it made me so happy,

As ordinary things often do

Just lately.  The shopping.  A walk in the park.

This is peace and contentment.  It’s new.

The rest of the day was quite easy.

I did all the jobs on my list

And enjoyed them and had some time over.

I love you.  I’m glad I exist.

-Wendy Cope

It’s pretty easy for me to get caught up in life and school and think about negative things, yet, I do get to come home every night to the most amazing man.  He is supportive and thoughtful in ways I never dreamed someone could be.  And for that, I am grateful.  We are lucky to have each other.

5 day week at school this week, I’m nearly there!

Leave a Reply

