At Least I Can Still Run

One of my goals for my 25th year was to heal the tendonitis that has been plaguing my right hand.  It was just hurting when I wrote that and now, instead of getting better, my hand has gotten worse.  It is to a point where I can’t preform some basic daily functions because of my inability to bend my fingers and wrist in their normal range of motion.  It has been very discouraging for me to day by day have my hand get worse instead of better.  No healing treatment seems to be working in my favor.

This morning I went for a run.  This is not unusual for me, especially on the weekends when I have a lot of free time, but I was still in a funk from a pretty bad night at work from the night before.  I laced up my shoes and headed out to the South Boulder Creek Path, a favorite place of mine to run.  My desire to run was pretty low this morning; I was tired and pissed off from the night before.  But, I chugged along and I started to feel better.  With every passing minute, I felt better and better and loosened up and started remembering why I run.

Running has lead me to great friends:

Grandma's Marathon, pre bum knee

It has brought me closer to my mom and allowed us to spend more time together:

Horsetooth Half Marathon

And has pushed me to run distances I thought I’d never do:

Denver Half Marathon, first half marathon, ever!

I still feel pretty discouraged right now and am sad that my hand isn’t healing, but at least I can still run.  Running has helped me through a number of other difficult situations and cleared my head so that I would stress less.  Running will help me get through this situation too.  I have lately been comparing my life to a marathon and how if I can finish a marathon, I can get through this difficult time in my life.  Things can only go up from here and my hand will heal.  Until then, you can find me running.

Leave a Reply

