Forks Over Knives

In my nutrition class, we started watching the documentary “Forks Over Knives” and I just finished it last night.  I am completely blown away by the information presented in this film and it really makes me question my dietary choices.  I think I make very healthy choices when eating for someone my age, but this documentary makes me seriously question if having meat and meat products in one’s diet is really necessary.

Here’s a synopsis overview from the Forks Over Knives website:

“Forks Over Knives examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting animal-based and processed foods.”

It was simply astonishing to me the examples of people who reversed their diseases with only switching to a whole foods, plant based diet.  There was one man who took 9 different pills a day and 2 shots and decided to reverse his diet to a whole foods, plant based one.  He was able to stop taking all of his medication, lost a lot of weight and looked vibrant and healthy when he was done.  Another woman, with diabetes, was also was able to stop taking her medication.  There were several more example in the film of people who reversed their chronic diseases all with just diet changes.

One of the doctors that was the center of focus throughout the film was Caldwell Esselstyn, who argues that heart disease can be prevented by a plant based and oil free diet.  Remember when I did the Engine 2 diet earlier this year?  Well, that’s his son, Rip’s book about how he got all the other firefighters he worked with to change their diet so that they could become healthier together.  Dr. Esselstyn says in “Forks Over Knives”, that heart disease is preventable and reversible, simply by following his diet.

 

I did a lot of whining and complaining when I did Engine 2.  I was hungry constantly, I missed olive oil and I craved meat.  My parents came to visit me and they took us out to eat several times, opportunities that I wasn’t going to miss eating whatever I wanted.  I felt a little weak the first week I was on the diet, but then I got used to it.  I started not really minding cooking and eating Engine 2 style.  My digestive system, which is usually not functioning the way it should be, was working wonderfully on Engine 2.  I lost weight-everyone kept saying how small I looked.  And I felt better too.  My runs during that time were some of the best runs I’ve ever had, including a PR on a five mile run.  I ran it just over 40 minutes, and usually takes me about 1 hour to run that far.  Could Engine 2 had anything to do with that?

 

“Forks Over Knives” makes me seriously consider eating a plant based diet.  My grandfather had triple bypass surgery a few years ago and he hasn’t been the same since.  He’s on Lipitor right now and he had basically every side effect that one can get from it.  It makes me so angry to think about him getting sicker, from a drug that’s supposed to “help” him.  If I can prevent that from happening to me, I sure as hell will do anything I can.  I want to be running, hiking and doing yoga when I’m in my 70s and 80s.

 

Any thoughts on “Forks Over Knives”?  Have you seen it?  What kind of diet do you eat?

Leave a Reply

