Tuesday Baking.

Lat night, I went to bed at 8:30.  “Why so early?” you ask.  When you get up at 4 am, 8 o’clock would mean a solid 8 hours of sleep.  I shoot to get into bed by 8:00 every night but it almost never happens.  I’m just facing facts that it’s going to be a sleep deprived year for me until school is over.  I really am a grandma these days.  I look forward to being able to enjoy my evenings more after school is over!

Any who, today was a fun day in class.  I think I say that every day though about Baking and Pastry class.

Pesto, goat cheese, roasted red pepper and mozzarella cheese pizza!

PIZZA DAY!  We all got to make our own pizzas and bake them on the hearth in the oven.  Super yummy!  My friend Ian also made a pumpkin pesto for his pizza.  Sounds weird, right?  It was super delicious!  It had pumpkin puree, garlic, olive oil, rosemary, pistachios and a little bit of salt.  It gave all the pizzas that had that pesto on it and wonderful bright orange color.  I will be trying to make this at home soon!

I didn’t take many pictures in class today.  We made oatmeal raisin cookies, brownies and biscotti for our production.  I think we’ve all seen pictures of enough cookies and brownies and have probably eaten way too many lately.  Christmas treats rule!  I’ve made oatmeal raisin cookies on the blog before, but these we made in class had a little bit of honey in them!  That added a nice hint of sweetness to the dough that wasn’t from white sugar.

Well, I’m pretty tired and that wake up call is coming sooner than I think.  The b.f. and I just exchanged Christmas gifts and I’m pretty pleased that he got me this cook book!

 

I’ve already flipped through it and there’s a braised pork shoulder with chiles that’s high on my list of things to make.  It was a very thoughtful gift especially since I did a project on the Slow Food movement in my storeroom class.  He also got me a mandolin and I got him a water carbonator.  So many new gadgets to try!

Be well & happy eating!

One thought on “Tuesday Baking.

  1. Pingback: Braised Chicken Legs with Fennel and Onions « Sarah's Cooking

Leave a Reply

