Christmas Biscotti

 

Tripod picture!

Yesterday, I was under the impression that my mixer was waiting waiting for my at the bf’s parent’s house.  When we got there and discovered that it was a different package waiting for him, I was pretty sad.  I was really, really looking forward to using it.  I wanted to make biscotti in it and practice creaming butter and sugar.  It turns out that you can cream butter and sugar by hand.  It’s kind of hard to do with a gimpy hand, but the bf helped me out.  You can just cream the sugar and butter by mixing them together with the back of a spoon.  The creaming effect still happens, it just takes a lot longer  by hand than in a mixer.

I used this biscotti recipe from Annalise’s blog but changed the mix ins to make different flavored biscotti.  I made half the dough with walnuts, a teaspoon of lemon zest and a tablespoon of fennel seeds.  In the second half of the dough, I added only walnuts and then dipped half of the cookie in chocolate ganache.  Ganache is super easy to make.  The ratio is 1:1 cream and bittersweet or semisweet chocolate.  I added slightly less cream though, so that the ganache would be a little bit thicker.

Ganache

From Michael Ruhlman’s post on ganache

Ingredients:

2 oz semisweet chocolate

2 oz heavy cream

Method:

Heat heavy cream in a sauce pot or in the microwave.  I used the microwave because I only had a little bit of cream to heat.  Pour heated cream over chocolate in batches, until the desired consistency is achieved.

 

I’m sending some of these biscotti with the bf to take to his family.  I’m taking some home with me and giving some to Alli, who is awesome and got me a tripod for my camera for Christmas!  Thanks Alli!

Traveling to California today, be well & happy eating!

Leave a Reply

