Brighten the Inner Body

Yesterday, I went to yoga.  I was feeling pretty sad yesterday after I got yet another test done on my arm and hand that will reveal the mystery of my non-working hand and fingers.

Weird, weird shot of my elbow

The test is called an EMG and I basically got electric waves sent through my arm and hand and the amount of time it takes for them to travel through my arm can be revealing.  So, that was super fun.  It wasn’t painful, it was just a very strange sensation to have tiny electric shocks coursing through my arm.  I left with some pretty sweet markings on my arm though.

The doctor said something with my ulner never isn’t working.  That’s the nerve that runs from your elbow to down into the ring and pinky finger.  I have to wait until next week to figure out how to correct the problem.  So, I was feeling pretty unhappy yesterday.  And after watching too much True Blood and doing a little homework, I decided to head over to the gym for yoga.  I missed yoga so much and my favorite teacher, Carmen was teaching yesterday afternoon.  I showed up at class and Carmen welcomed me back with open arms.  She hugged me and talked with my about my hand.  Instead of saying, “I don’t think you should do this,” like I was expecting her to say, she said, “Well, you can do down dog on your forearms, and I’ll help you modify the rest of the poses throughout class.”  Nearly every doctor has been telling me all the activities I can’t do or what  I shouldn’t be doing and it was wonderful to hear Carmen say, yes, you can do this.  Let me help you through it.  The class yesterday was all about the inner body and practicing brightening it.  How appropriate.  It was one of the best yoga classes I have taken and felt an enormous sense of relief after I left.

I was still a little sad, but at least now I know that I can go to yoga and still have a great practice.  Also, boyfriend of the year award goes to mine.  Yes, I know it’s only the 5th day of this new year, but I’m announcing this early because he has been so supportive throughout my injury.  I was a pretty big grump last night and he still comforted me and told me that we’d get through it together.  He even sat through True Blood with me.  And he fed Indie this morning when he got up to go to work.  I’m a lucky, lucky girl.

Also, my sister is one hell of a sister too.  She’s going through some rough times herself right now and she still listened to me talk about my hand.  And we embarrassed ourselves at Michael’s last night roaming around the store and taking ridiculous pictures on her phone.  She’s pretty stellar!

It’s a gorgeous day in Boulder today, unnervingly warm for January.  Be well & happy eating!

Leave a Reply

