My Favorite Kombucha Recipe.

Brewing station

Fact: I can never sleep in, even when I don’t have school.  This is fine by me as I am a morning person and enjoy getting an early start to the day.  It looks like it’s going to be a pretty sunrise too!  And I now have homemade kombucha to look forward to when I wake up!  I’ve been successfully brewing kombucha for a about two months now and I’d like to share my favorite recipe that I make almost every time I start a new batch.

I accidentially grew another mother when this one sat for too long. This mother makes really fizzy kombucha!

Red Zinger Lavender Kombucha

Ingredients:

6 cups of water

1/4 cup sugar

2 Red Zinger Tea Bags

2 black tea bags (unflavored black tea)

2 tablespoons dried lavender

Method:

1. Bring water and sugar to a boil until the sugar has dissolved.  Turn off the heat and add tea bags and lavender.

2. Completely cool the tea/sugar mixture to room temperature.  I usually stick mine the the fridge to speed up the process.

3. Add solution to bottles with your mushroom mother.  Depending on how warm your brewing station is, the kombucha will be finished brewing anywhere from 4 days to a week.

Once you’ve grown your mushroom mother, it’s pretty easy to brew kombucha.  The possibilities are endless with flavor combinations and kinds of tea you can use.  I’ve made batches with green tea, black tea, chai tea.  The chai tea one turned out very interesting because of the bold flavors from the spices in the chai.  But, over and over again, I come back to the Red Zinger/black tea/lavender combination.  There is subtle earthiness from the lavender in the background is quite pleasant and the Red Zinger gives the kombucha a pleasant taste and color.  I’ve left the lavender out of batches too and it still tastes really, really great.  I think my next experiment is going to be with Earl Grey tea.  Bergamont should be an interesting flavor in kombucha.

The big momma

 

Look at the size of that momma!  I’ve had this lady since the beginning and she just keeps growing and growing!  Some tips I’ve picked up from fermenting:

  • If it seems like your tea is taking a long time to ferment, you can add a wee bit more sugar to the solution in encourage a second fermentation.  This will also help increase the fizziness.
  • Try your tea before you think it’s done.  You want to walk up on it, otherwise it will get really sour and may not be drinkable.
  • Find the warmest, darkest area to brew your batches.  The warmer it is, the fast it ferments and the mommas really like the warmth for the fermentation process.  The cabinet that I grow mine in is right by the oven.
  • I don’t ever refrigerate mine after it’s done.  I find I prefer it room temperature.  This is certainly personal preference, but mine seems to taste better at room temperature than cold.
  • If you’re going to be away for a while and won’t have time to brew batches, you can leave your kombucha in a tea sugar solution and just let it sit.  Don’t drink the tea that’s in there when you get back though!  It’ll be really, really sour and fermented-y.  (That’s totally a word.)

I find the process of brewing kombucha very rewarding and it saves me money too!  I would buy one of these every day from Whole Foods, but at three dollars a pop, that adds up for a college student.  Have a great start to your day!  Be well & happy eating (or drinking)!

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Kombucha Recipe.

  1. I’ve been brewing kombucha for about half a year now, and I always tend to stick to the same bottling flavors–ginger, peach, sometimes raspberry–and I saw your post. Lavender and the zinger tea sounds like an awesome combo! What other flavors do you like that I could try? Thanks!

    • I’ve made one with green tea and lavender before and that was a nice, but very light brew. I really enjoyed the one I made with chai tea bags as well. I normally just experiment with the flavors of the tea, but I’d like to try adding fruits to them as well. Thanks for reading!

  2. Pingback: Kombucha: A Better Home Brewing Technique | Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

