Three New Foods

To celebrate the blog’s birthday, I made a recipe from Heidi Swanson’s cook book Super Natural Cooking.  This cook book has never failed me: the ingredients are fresh, exciting and aren’t very complicated.  I made the Hijiki and Edamame Salad and it only took me about 40 minutes to put together.  There was no cooking involved in the recipe, but I added quinoa to mine.  Quinoa only takes about 10 or 15 minutes to make, so it was quick addition to the meal.  I only made a couple of other modifications to the recipe.  I couldn’t find soybeans, so I used garbonzo beans instead.  I also couldn’t find any hijiki seaweed, so I substituted wakame instead.

This salad caught my eye since the first time I opened this book.  I don’t generally cook with seaweed and miso is something I have very little experience with.  There is also some dikon radishes in the salad, which I have never tried tried either.  I was very pleased with all three new ingredients.  I expected the seaweed to taste much more salty in the dish; it smelled really salty when I opened the bag.  But, it wasn’t too salty.  It added a nice background flavor of richness rather that salt.  The miso was used in the dressing for the salad and I was really pleased how it tasted.  I made the dressing separate and saved it in a bottle so I could add as much or as little as I wanted.  I bought yellow miso and it turned my dressing a very pretty bright yellow.  It, like the seaweed, added a rich depth of flavor and was fantastic over the beans.  I really, really liked the dikon radish as well.  It tasted much like a red radish, except it wasn’t as spicy as a red radish.  I liked the crunchy texture it added to the salad.

Another quick and delicious dinner on a week night.  It’s always a real effort for me to make a home cooked meal during the week because I am so exhausted after school.  I have been making a very conscious effort to incorporate more vegetables into my diet lately and making the effort to cook has really helped.  Check out Heidi’s website, 101 Cookbooks, for more great ideas on food.  She is so inspiring!

Super salad!

 

I tried to set up a makeshift light box to take these pictures and they turned out better than some of my other night time pictures.  There were still some shadows behind the food.  I’m slowing working on improving my pictures!  Be well & happy eating!

Leave a Reply

