Veggies and Muffins

I suppose you could call today a day off for me.  There was no school today, but I have class on Friday to make up for having Monday off.  This makes no sense to me, as we still would have a four day week, regardless if we have Monday or Friday off, but whatever.  They don’t consult me on the schedule for Johnson and Wales.  They really should though…

Hello gorgeous

I ran for 30 glorious minutes in my barefoot shoes and then I ate this lovely salad to celebrate my day off.  I made us home made veggie burgers, because now I have time to do things like make lunch.  Injury’s a blessing in disguise.

Up close & personal

How does this not look amazing?  Sunlight shining though a mountain of green vegetables?  Ok, maybe just I find this picture attractive, but this was the perfect mid day meal.  And, the bf and I got to sit down together and eat lunch before he left for work.  It’s the simple things that really make me happy, like sharing meals with someone.  We actually sat down, with no TV or computers in front of us and talked to each other while eating.  One of life’s simple pleasures indeed.  I went to my favorite teacher’s yoga class at the gym and she showed me some new modifications so I wouldn’t hurt my hand/arm more.  She also worked on my shoulder to release some of the muscles.  I feel all loosie goosie now.

Leftovers

Dinner was leftover pizza from Saturday night that I beefed up with cubed tempeh and a little Cabot Cheddar.  My half of the pizza was originally vegan and I just added cheese to it tonight.  Adding cheese to a vegan pizza is weird, I’d agree with that.  I also baked some carrot/raisin muffins to eat this week for breakfast.  (I swear I know how to bake more things that muffins.  I just really, really love muffins.)  I used my recipe for Vegan Cranberry Orange muffins, but I omitted the orange zest and cranberries and added shredded carrots and raisins instead.  I also upped the amount of oil to 1/2 a cup instead of 1/3.  I have found that increasing the amount of oil makes the muffins crumb a little more tender.  I’m too full to try one right now, but the batter tasted amazing.  I’ll be devouring those tomorrow morning…at 4:30 am.

Today was quite the lovely day.  The boyfriend, running, yoga, good food and this weird cat:

I will sleep on anything except the bed you bought me.

 

Off to bed.  Be well & happy eating!

Leave a Reply

