Crispy Sesame Tofu

Crispy nugget of joy

I’ve been eating vegetarian as of late.  It’s not because I’m trying to switch my diet to vegetarianism, but rather an effort to put some variety in the meals I make at home.  I like vegetarian sources of protein too: tempeh, beans and tofu.  Tofu is probably my favorite protein.  It has very little taste on it’s own, so there’s lots of manipulation that can be done with it.  I thought up this recipe last night as a spin off of Katie’s sesame crusted tofu.  I wanted a nice, crunchy and crisp layer of sesame seeds on the outside of the tofu.  I tried just dipping the pieces in sesame seeds, but breading the tofu made it really crunchy and the sesame seeds stuck well.  This recipe will make a hater of tofu a lover of it!  I also used sprouted tofu in my recipe.  Not only was it on sale at the store, but it also didn’t need to be pressed as long as unsprouted tofu.  It actually had very little water in it.  This was only the second time I’ve worked with sprouted tofu and I was pretty pleased.  It’s super firm and it makes it really easy to work with.

Crispy Sesame Tofu

Serves 2

Ingredients:

One 14 ounce block extra firm  sprouted tofu

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon each salt and pepper

1/2 cup egg whites

3/4 cup sesame seeds

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Spray a sheet pan with non stick spray.

2. Take tofu out of package and wrap paper towels around it.  Place on plate, cover with another plate and place two cans on it.  You’re weighting the tofu down to get the extra water out of it.

2. Place flour, salt and pepper in one bowl, egg white in another and sesame seeds in the third.

3.  Unwrap the tofu and slice into thin sticks, about the size of your thumb.

4. Dip tofu pieces into flour, then egg and finally sesame seeds.  Place on greased sheet pan and repeat with remain tofu pieces.

5. Bake in the oven for about 12 minutes, or until the seeds are golden on the tofu.  Flip the pieces and bake for another 8-10 minutes.  Serve and enjoy!

The breading on these tofu bites creates a delightfully crisp outer coating that made this tofu stand out.  We served ours up in corn tortillas with the fixings for tacos and they were great!  The inside of the tofu still had slight give to it and with the crunchy outside, it was very nearly like eating a french fry.  Ok, I won’t try to pawn off breaded tofu and french fries, but they resemble them in texture!

I love bean curd!

 

Be well & happy eating!

Leave a Reply

