Happy Birthday Alli: Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Peanut Butter Frosting

Say what you will about the current cupcake trend, but it certainly takes a lot of effort to make a cupcake.  I spent the better part of last night making cupcakes for Alli’s birthday brunch today and while it was fun, I underestimated how long it would take me to make them.  I like to over-fill my muffin tins when I make muffins so that a nice muffin top forms.  (This is the only time where muffins tops are acceptable.)  That edge of the muffin that peaks over the paper, waiting to be torn off and slathered with almond butter.  Cupcakes don’t need these.  Cupcakes are not meant to be over-filled.  If anything, they should be under-filled.

Unsalvageable. But, we did eat the tops off them!

 

Sad pile of cupcakes.

I was so proud of myself for making these cupcakes in record time; the mixer helps out a lot.  And then disaster struck.  Like I said, cupcakes are meant to be under-filled.  After a meltdown and using failed cupcakes as a metaphor for my life, I sucked it up and made another batch.  And they were damn good.  You could smear this cream cheese peanut butter frosting on a flip-flop and it would taste great!  The cupcakes were tender and richly chocolate from the cocoa powder.  I used this recipe from “Cupcakes Take Cake” for the chocolate cupcake and this recipe from “Smitten Kitchen” for the frosting.

The only modifications I made to these recipes were that I used Earth Balance in the second round of cupcakes because I didn’t have enough real butter.  You couldn’t tell the difference.  I also halved the frosting recipe because I don’t need five cups of frosting laying around our apartment, beckoning to me from the fridge, waiting to be eaten by the spoonful.  Lovely, lovely recipes and of course the cupcake failure isn’t a big deal today.  The birthday girl got very excited about her cupcakes and that’s what counts-making people happy with food!

So, Happy Birthday Alli!  You’re an amazing woman and I am blessed to have you in my life.

Grandma's Marathon!

Be well & happy eating all!

One thought on “Happy Birthday Alli: Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Peanut Butter Frosting

  1. Pingback: Superfoods Smoothie « Sarah's Cooking

Leave a Reply

