Superfoods Smoothie

Breakfast of champions

I realize this is a complete 180 of yesterday’s cupcakes but that’s life I suppose.  Yesterday at breakfast, the girls and I were discussing green smoothies and our different variations on them.  Here’s a couple of mine.  The above smoothie was from yesterday and it contained:

  • 3/4 cup frozen mixed greens
  • 1/4 cup frozen mango
  • 2 frozen strawberries
  • about 1.5 cups almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon hemp seeds
  • maca powder
  • cinnamon sprinkle
  • sprinkle of chia seeds on top

Coconut water!

This one is from this morning and has coconut water in it, as per a suggestion from my friends yesterday.

The Hydrator:

  • 3/4 cup frozen mixed greens
  • 1/4 cup mango
  • 2 frozen strawberries
  • maca powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds
  • 1 cup coconut water
  • cinnamon sprinkle

I really enjoyed the coconut water addition in this smoothie.  I find it really hard to drink water right when I get up and this is the perfect way to hydrate and drink some breakfast.  If I was making these smoothies to last longer, I would add more fat, like almond butter or more hemp/flax seeds.  Adding greek yogurt also boosts the protein content significantly and helps them last longer too.  I realize it’s super weird to think about drink a smoothie with greens in it, but I can’t even taste them in there!  A nice healthy dose of greens in the morning never hurt anyone!  Adding a frozen banana (or unfrozen) also really helps disguise the taste of the greens.

Be well & happy eating!

One thought on “Superfoods Smoothie

  1. Pingback: The Hydrator Smoothie II | Cook/Write

Leave a Reply

