Saturday Pancakes: Coconut Flour Blueberry

Weekends are for sleeping in.  Weekends are for relaxing.  Weekends are for breakfasts you don’t have time to make during the week.  The bf got us a container of blueberries at the store and this snowy morning called for a breakfast treat: Blueberry Pancakes.  I replaced some of the white flour with coconut flour to make these pancakes a little different than your average pancake.  I like adding a little bit of coconut flour to things, but not all coconut flour.  All coconut flour goods don’t rise the way goods made with wheat flour do.  Using all coconut flour requires using extra eggs as well, and I only have two eggs.  I think this version turned out pretty well.  Happy Saturday!

 

Coconut Flour Blueberry Pancakes

Makes 6 big pancakes and 1 tiny pancake

Ingredients:

1 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup coconut flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 egg

1.5 cups milk of your choice.  (I did a combo of cow and almond milk)

2 generous handfuls of blueberries

Method:

1. Preheat a griddle on the stove on medium heat.

2. Combine flours, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a bowl.

3. Add egg and milk and stir to combine.

4. Fold in blueberries.

5. Spray griddle with non-stick spray.  Pour batter in 1/4 -1/2 cup spoonfuls on your hot griddle.  Flip when underside is golden brown.  Transfer cooked pancakes to your plate and eat them with glee, because it’s Saturday!

 

 

The coconut flour added a subtle sweetness to the background of these pancakes and the blueberry’s earthy, tart juice runs all over the pancakes.  Top it with the goodies of your choice and some maple syrup.  Maple syrup is essential to pancakes; I don’t understand people who only put yogurt and fruit on their pancakes.  You could certainly make these pancakes with only all purpose flour or a combination of wheat and coconut flour.  I think the bf gets sick of me experiment with baked goods, so I tried to make these as close to “normal” pancakes as possible.  And, it’s the weekend!  A little white flour won’t kill you.  So, have yourself some pancakes, with your hot morning beverage of choice and a person you love.  What a great way to start the weekend!

 

Topped with almond butter, chia seeds and coconut flakes. Side of maple syrup.

 

What, you don’t dip your pancakes into maple syrup?  I hate pouring it directly onto my pancakes/waffles/anything the requires maple syrup because it makes them soggy.  I like the crispy exterior of pancakes to stay that way while I’m eating it.  The maple syrup also sinks into the pancake and disappears and then I feel like I have to add more.  I know I’m totally weird.

Be well & happy eating!

Leave a Reply

