Honey Cumin Chicken

Sometimes, I want to be vegetarian again.  I’ll go on kicks where I eat lots of beans, tempeh and tofu, all which I’d enjoy regardless of whether I was vegetarian or not.  Things are peachy until I think about this chicken.  This is one of my top five ways to prepare chicken, mostly because it has cumin in it and that’s my favorite spice of all times.  Eating chicken was a good decision.  Making this marinade and eating chicken cooked in it was an even better decision.   The ingredients for the marinade are simple and if you can grill this, it tastes out of this world.  I marinated my chicken overnight in this marinade, but my mom used to just pour the marinade over the chicken and put it in the oven immediately.  Either way works, it depends on your time constraint.

 

 

Honey Cumin Chicken

Serves 2

Ingredients:

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/4 cup olive oil

2-4 tablespoons red wine vinegar, depending on how acidic you like your marinades.

2 tablespoons honey

2 teaspoons cumin

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Mix all ingredients expect chicken in a gallon plastic bag.  Squish the bottom of the bag to incorporate the ingredients and then add the chicken breasts.

2. Place plastic bag in a container, to catch any leaks if they happen, and refrigerate over night, or until you’re ready to use.

3. Preheat the oven to 400°F.  Spray an oven proof pan and bake 30 minutes, or until the internal temperature has reach 165°F.

Delicious!  The bf and I enjoyed this for dinner tonight and we were pretty pleased with our dinner.  Especially the bf because I didn’t make tofu for dinner.  Honey and cumin seem like an unlikely pair for a marinade, but the sweetness of the honey and the smokiness from the cumin make for a fine piece of chicken.  I’m a pretty big believer in marinating chicken breast in order for it to taste good, especially boneless and skinless.  Our chicken was tender from it’s overnight soak in honey and cumin.  Now I’m homesick because I cooked with cumin.  And we all know how I feel about cumin.  Thinking of you, Mom!

We had ours with breaded zucchini and stuffed mushrooms.

Be well & happy eating!

P.S.  Name change takes place tomorrow people!  Heads up to that!

Leave a Reply

