Kidney Bean Hummus

Happy April Fool’s day!  Did anyone play any tricks on you today?  I think Colorado’s weather is playing tricks on us, deluding us into believing that Spring is here to stay.  It’s supposed to cool down significantly tomorrow.  I refuse to believe my weather app.

 

I made a batch of kidney beans a couple of days ago and decided today to make some hummus with them.  I’ve had tahini lurking in the back of my fridge for quite some time now.  Does anyone else have that problem where they don’t know what to make with tahini except for hummus?  I’ve tried making some salad dressing with it and it was successful, but that’s as far as I’ve gone.  Good thing it doesn’t expire quickly.

 

New to tahini?  Tahini is ground up sesame seeds- seed butter if you will.  It has a very specific taste, slightly bitter, but the fat from the nuts cuts the bitterness down.  It’s it’s sort of an umami flavor : “delicious.”  Sounds vague and I’m kind of on the fence about this flavor, but you can’t deny that things like parmesan cheese, soy sauce, or anchovy have this very distinct quality that just makes your food damn delicious.  Check out this article from NPR for some cool info on umami.

Any ways, make yourself some of this hummus.  It’s tasty, and it’s pretty good for you.  I actually measured the ingredients this time, usually I just throw ingredients in the food processor willy nilly when I make hummus.  Ease off on the garlic if you don’t like to have pungent breath or don’t need to ward off vampires.

Kidney Bean Hummus

Ingredients:

2 garlic cloves

2 tablespoons fresh parsely

1 teaspoon salt

juice from 1 lemon

1/3 cup tahini

2 cups cooked kidney beans

1/2 teaspoon cumin

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup vegetable broth

Method:

1. Put garlic cloves in food processor.  Chop until finely minced.  Add parsley and chop.

2.  Add lemon juice, tahini, and kidney beans.  Pulse.

3.  Add remaining ingredients, except vegetable broth.  Grind.  Add vegetable broth in in batches, until the desired consistency is achieved, I probably used all but 1 tablespoon of broth.

Slather on your desired hummus vehicle and enjoy.

 

My hummus goes on top of a massive salad.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

