Saturday.

I have been looking forward more and more to weekends off from school. I still love school but the early wake up calls and my long commute are starting to wear on me. A small part of me wishes that we lived in Denver, or at least closer to it.  Our lives are so intertwined in Boulder that it would be difficult for us to move.

20120414-211255.jpg

Veal Osso Bucco

 

I made this veal osso bucco on Thursday, which was a crazy day in the classroom.  Six of our classmates started their practicals, which meant that there were six less people to help with the menu production.  Nearly all of us made our food by ourselves.  I will admit that I was pretty lucky in making osso bucco, because I had a good 40 minutes of down time while it cooked in the pressure cooker.  Poor Steph had quite the time with her stuffed lamb leg, but she got through it and it was ready in time for service.

 

20120414-211305.jpg

Bouillabaisse

 

Thursday just wasn’t our day in the classroom.  I have been experiencing health problems, as are other people and we’re all just a burnt out.  We’ve been getting in the habit of getting beers after class…at noon.  Whoops.  That doesn’t really help my attention span in our second class, but it sure has improved the level of sleepiness I have.  I’m counting down the days to free time and only having work to do.

 

20120414-211317.jpg

Appetizer: artichoke quarter stuffed with mushrooms and cheese.

 

Make no mistake, going to culinary school is still one of the best choices I’ve ever made for myself.  I can’t imagine my life without food, now that I’ve nearly finished school.  I’ve made friends that I want to stay in contact with for the rest of my life and we’ve been through some crazy days, fun days and some really, really tough days.  It’s nice to know I have a group of people I can count on every day, and that makes class even better.

 

I have never felt such a sense of belonging as I do at school, in a kitchen.  The last time I felt like that was when I discovered how much I liked writing and sat in many English classes in college.  There’s something about a kitchen and working with food that makes me light up and incredibly happy, but also brings out a level of intensity in myself that I have never seen.  So, yes, school is still super awesome.  I’d just like to sleep in a little bit.

Leave a Reply

