Cornmeal Blueberry Muffins II

These muffins are not gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, corn-free (blasphemy!), vegan or anything in between.  I’ve made a vegan version of these before and they were pretty good for muffins with no dairy or eggs.  These are my most favorite muffin, in non-vegan form and in their original formula.  The cornmeal lends these a nice, grainy texture and the sour cream keeps them moist and adds a nice tangy background note.  (My school friends will be proud of the use of moist here.) Use frozen or canned blueberries when they are out of season.

Cornmeal Blueberry Muffins II

Ingredients:

1 & 1/4 cup flour

2/3 cup cornmeal

1/3 cup sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup sour cream

2 eggs

1/4 cup oil

3/4 – 1 cup blueberries, canned, frozen or fresh

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 400° F.

2. Mix flour cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and soda and salt in one bowl.  Mix remaining ingredients, except blueberries in another bowl.

3.  Add dry ingredients to wet and stir until just combined.  Fold in blueberries.

4.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until the tops are lightly browned.

Admittedly, I’ve tried almost every “free” that I listed because I just wanted to feel better.  There was a point in my life where I felt nauseated and very tired all the time.  Most of my discomfort was from eating shitty food, like Weight Watchers 1 Point cement bars or constantly drinking diet soda to distract myself from hunger or eating egg whites with plastic, fat free cheese.  So, yes I have done a gluten free diet, a dairy free diet, egg free diet and vegan diet.  It turns out that none of those really solved my problems except for possibly the dairy free.  I was on a very strict dairy free diet for about six months and then I ate some cheese.  Hence why I wasn’t vegan for very long either.

These muffins do always remind me of my mom and her kitchen, like I posted about before.  Even more, they remind of a time before I started over-analyzing my food constantly and was just eating.  I would eat three muffins, maybe four and not think twice about it.  Then, I’d take another one in a baggie and eat it at school for a snack.  I remember being aware of how my body looked, but never thinking that I needed to change anything.

I can pinpoint exactly when that awareness turned into caring though and it became full blown in my first year at college.  I think I will always subconsciously associate food with numbers.  (Thanks, Weight Watchers.)  But, now I can enjoy food now; there was a point where I didn’t want to go out eat because it gave me so much anxiety not knowing how many points my food would be.  This is part of the reason I went to culinary school.  I was just so happy when I rediscovered my love of food.  It felt liked I had rekindled an old friendship.

The point is I made myself some damn muffins, just the way my mom used to.  And it made me incredibly happy and a little homesick.  Enjoy their gluten, dairy, CORN, and non-vegan-ness.    And if you’re vegan, check out Version 1.

Leave a Reply

