The End

20120519-142957.jpg

” The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled. For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.” M. Scott Peck

Thursday was my last day of culinary labs. In March of last year, I decided to go to culinary school, and on September 6th, I went to my first day of classes. I printed out the quote above and hung it right in front of my desk, serving as a reminder to why I went back to school. I left a job that I was making decent money at, signed myself up for 8 months of commuting 35 miles, and very early morning wake up call combined with late nights. I was hurt the entire time I was in school, but I learned how to work through it and a lot about strength I didn’t know I had.

May seemed pretty far away last September, but, here it is and we graduated today. I was running behind schedule, it was freezing and pouring rain intermittently, and I was dressed completely inappropriately but it seemed fitting that my last experience with my friends was one that was a little miserable, hard to go through but still fun, much like our classes.

Leave a Reply

